Skip to main content

EndNote Online: Home

Step by step guide on using EndNote for the beginner and more advanced user.

Introduction to EndNote and Creating Your Account

 

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online is a Web based Reference Management tool that helps you collate the references (Author, Title, Date, Publisher) of the resources you have read and then put them in to the format required for your assignments.

It will allow you to create your own online Library of the material you have found and then generate In-text Citations and a Bibliography as you write your essay. A number of different referencing styles are available. It will store 50,000 records and allows 2GB of file (PDF & Image) storage.

Why do I need to provide References?

Referencing is an important part of academic work.  If you use someone else’s work without giving them due credit, you are committing plagiarism. It also allows the reader to know where you are getting your argument from and what sources you have used in your research.

There are a number of different referencing styles (such as Harvard, Chicago, MLA, APA) so be sure to check with your department which style you are required to use for your specific subject.

How do I create an EndNote account?

 

Go to Quick Links on the Library Webpage, select EndNote and follow the instructions to create an account. This must be done on campus. You can also access EndNote via the Web of Science database.

 

EndNote Online Help!

Online Tutorials

EndNote Online Quick Guide

 

Using EndNote Online Tutorial

Importing References from Library Search

When you locate a item (Book, Journal Article)  in "Library Search" simply click on the three dots (top right of the item details) "more actions" link and select EndNote to export the item reference details into your Endnote account.

Creating Folders

When you add references or export references into EndNote they go into the unfiled section. They are automatically sorted by author but they can be easily sorted by year, date, source, date added..

To sort your references into groups simply click in the box beside the reference and select the dropdown "Add to Group" and either add that reference to an existing group or select "New Group" to create a new group name. As you create groups they will automatically appear in the side bar. To change the name of your groups or delete them use the "Manage my Groups" function under the Organize tab. You can also share your references with other EndNote users from in here, for example if you were working on a group project.

Citing and Creating References in Word

Use the Cite While You Write Plug-in to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. Each time you find and insert a citation in your document, the bibliography automatically formats according to the style selected.

The Plug in is available to download via "Options" and "Download Installers". It is also under the "Format" tab.

 

Entering a Reference Manually

You may want to use this function if a reference you have is not available electronically. Click the Collect tab then "New Reference".

The important thing if you use this function is to make sure you select what type of item it is (Book, Article, Web Site) as this will be important when it comes to generating your Bibliography. Simply enter data into the fields you want included in your record.

Altering a Record

You may wish to add further bibliographic information or you own notes (there is a "Research Notes" field for this) to the records you have saved. You may also wish to alter a record that you imported but doesn't look right for example it might be in all capital letters and you won't want it appearing like this in your bibliography.

Simply go into the group of records and then click into the title of the item you'd like to change and then into the specific field you'd like to change. You can also add in image files and PDF's to the record using this method. If the fields you require don't seem to be there it may be that you'll need to click the "Show Empty Fields" button.

 

Selecting a Referencing Style

Bibliographic Styles Favorites

When formatting a document all available bibliographic styles will appear and then you can select the one you want to use.By defining your Bibliographic Styles Favorites allows you can create a smaller, more convenient list.

Adding Bibliographic Styles to your Favorites

    From the Bibliography or Format Paper page, click the Select Favorites link.
    Select one or more output styles from the list of All Bibliographic Styles field on the left.
    Click the Copy to Favorites button.

Removing Bibliographic Styles from your Favorites

    From the Bibliography or Format Paper page, click the Select Favorites link.
    Select one or more output styles from the list of Favorite Bibliographic Styles field on the right.
    Click the Remove from Favorites button.

 

Exporting References from Databases to EndNote

When you are searching the academic databases (For example: JSTOR, Science Direct, Web of Science, Business Source Complete) provided by the Library , and find references you'd like to add to EndNote Online, simply select that record and then click on the "Export" option and choose EndNote as the destination.   The location of the Export button varies between Databases but is usually located amongst other options such as Print, Save, Email. Its also useful to set up your own profile (by registering with the database) on the database which will allow you to save your search histories for future reference and perhaps add them to EndNote at a later date.

To help with the above process you'll also need to download "Firefox extension" which is located under "Options" and "Download Installers". You might also want to add the "Capture Reference" tool available here to your bookmarks.

EndNote works best (as do the databases) while using the Firefox browser, so we'd advise you use this browser for you database searching and for EndNote.

Creating a Bibliography

To create a bibliography:

  •     From the Format tab, click the Bibliography link.
  •     Select the references to format, such as the quick list or a personal group, from the References drop-down list box.
  •     Select the output style from the Bibliographic style drop-down list box.
  •     Click the Save To, E-mail, or Preview & Print buttons.