Top recommended Journals for Music
- Contemporary Music Review. A forum for musicians and musicologists to discuss recent musical currents in both breadth and depth. The main concern of the journal is the critical study of music today in all its aspects
- Journal of Interdisciplinary Music Studies - This journal aims are to contribute towards an understanding of music in all its manifestations, definitions and contexts, to promote interdisciplinary synergy among humanities and sciences & to promote academic quality and the application of research findings.
- Leonardo Music Journal. devoted to the aesthetic and technical issues in contemporary music and sonic arts. Each thematic issue features artists/writers from around the world
You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.
How to reference a Journal Article
(in the MHRA style)
| In-Text Reference: used when you are quoting or paraphrasing a source in the body of your essay. It follows an author-date format. The above reference would appear as (Brown, 1961) in-text. |
For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.
Journals & Databases
What are they?
Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.
Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.
Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.
It is important for students and researchers of Music to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Music.
Search for Journals & Journal Articles in LibrarySearch below
Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.
When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.
Recommended Databases for Music
Featured Music Database
Provides information on composers, instruments and musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.
What is Peer Review?
(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)
“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary
You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.
Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.
