• 2024 New to MU Presentation with links
• Meet the Academic Engagement Librarian to find out more
• Welcome to MU: recorded online session & links
• Academic staff services in MU Library 
• Who to contact in MU Library: printable A4 guide for MU staff
• Take a virtual tour of the library
• Want a physical tour of the library?
• Take a look at our Subject Guides for your department
• Do you need to register for a MU Library account?  
• Visiting-lecturer library access
• Want to visit another academic library?
• Who do you ask when you want to order books?
• How do inter-library loans work in MU Library?
• How do you arrange a book order to support your modules?
• Library layout information

Your MyCard is your library card and once it is active, you have a library account.

You can borrow, reserve, receive alerts for orders and more using your MyCard.

If you have any queries about your MU Library account, please contact us and we'll be happy to assist you. 

2021: Welcome to MU Library 21/22: a quick guide for staff new to MU - In 31 mins, find out about the services, resources and collections that will be of use to you and your work in MU.

2021: Working remotely and using online content from MU Library - In 30 minutes, find out how to search, refine and link to relevant full-text content available from MU Library (and Google Scholar). 

Every department has a dedicated information space for students and staff on the MU Library webpages. These are called Subject Guides and they contain lots of useful, subject-specific information on e-Journals, databases, books, study tips and more.

These guides can be tailored to your needs so if you have suggestions for additions or changes, please contact me.

Visit the library homepage and click on Guides and Tutorials to find and view your Department's LibGuide.

Watch the short tutorial below on Finding your Subject Guide on the library website

We can arrange access for you to other academic libraries through the following schemes:

Print off this infographic (September 2023 version) in A4 / colour, and pin it on your bulletin board for easy reference:

• Borrowing
• Inter-library loans and document supply
• Providing exhibition space
• Personal library tours for you and/or your students
• Access to Special Collections content (including primary sources) for use in the classroom
• Tours of the beautiful, historic Russell Library (Special Collections)
• Specialised classes for your students
• Contacts for subject queries and information support for both staff and students
• Research and postgraduate support and training
• Academic training in information skills and specialised resources
• Access to other academic libraries
• Support for digital projects and with uploading your publications to Maynooth University's institutional repository, MURAL

Choose from a selection of our virtual tours of MU Library here including library layout and our makerspace. 

MU Library is an interesting blend of the original library from 1984, with a major, award-winning new extension built and opened in 2013.

If you'd like a tour of the library, I'd love to welcome you to MU Library and show you around. I can point out the resources and services that will support you and your students. Email me to request a tour.

This is the process that is in place, at present:

1. The visiting lecturer will need an affiliate email.    
2. The department administrator applies to MyCard mycard@mu.ie and requests a visitor card.
3. The card is issued to the admin of the department
4. We then add library gate access to the visitor card at the Admission Desk, when the visitor arrives at the Library.

Access is for reading only.  If borrowing is required, please contact us. 

If a visiting lecturer only wants to use e-resources, and not access the library, they just use their MU login details.

Arrange a quick meeting with me (via Teams or in person) if you're new to MU by email or phone (+353-1-7083897) and we can: 

• take a tour of the physical library and /or,
• discover collections and material of relevance to you, and,
• discuss how MU Library can support your work.

I act as a liaison between you, your department, and MU Library, by working in the following areas: 

• Keeping informed of your academic work in MU, facilitating connections between academics and MU Library teams

• Promoting the work of MU Library to faculty

• Advocate on behalf of your department on library-related issues, to senior management in MU Library on decisions relevant to your departmental needs, such as the need for new subscriptions to databases, e-Journals etc. 

• Providing information and guidance to faculty on resources, management of budgets and subscriptions

• Linking faculty up with library staff to arrange trials, training, cancellations and subscriptions to academic resources 

• Linking faculty to the range of MU Library services available: copyright information, teaching & learning, collection development, research support, digital services, and more

• Meeting Library Reps regularly and keeping in touch about new developments

Arrange a meeting with me if you're new to MU by email or phone (+353-1-7083897) and we can discuss more.

We currently offer a free Inter-Library Loan service. Please see our Inter-Library Loan page for further details.

You will probably be producing a resource list or reading list for your module. Try to order in all the print or e-book items on the reading list, if we don't already stock them. Try to link to full-text online material, using LibrarySearch to locate it, where you can. To ensure your students have access to the physical material on your reading list, you will need to:

• Check that the books and articles you are recommending are available from MU Library, or
• Order them in if they are not

In MU, this is a manual process. Make sure you have registered with the library before ordering. If you need to do that now, the online form is here. Without registration, we will be unable to send you an alert when your book order arrives.

You can check your reading list material using LibrarySearch (MU Library's online catalogue).

Your students can request the order of up to 5 books per academic year, see here for more details. 

Once you have found the article, book or ebook from your reading list, click the Permanent Link option (the icon that looks like 2 links in a chain) to get a stable link to the resource that you can add to your reading list (see image above). This link can be added to your Word document, email, or uploaded to Moodle. If you want to link directly to the full-text content and upload the link to Moodle, email me and I can send you on the steps involved. 

Every department has a Library Rep; a designated member of staff that sends in book & e-book orders, and liaises with MU Library.

For contact details for your Department's Library Rep, email me. If you can't reach your Rep, or your have a query about ordering material, email me.