Skip to Main Content

Supporting Online Teaching & Learning

Support for Researchers

Research Skills training for Postgrad Researchers & Academics

Would you like to upskill? Contact our Research Support Librarian Ciarán Quinn, to request a bespoke training session tailored to your research needs.

Possible topics include:

  • Finding information for your research
  • Literature Searching: What you need to know
  • Reference Management Software (e.g. EndNote)
  • Measuring your Research Impact
  • Improving your Research Visibility
  • Managing your Online Researcher Profile
  • Research Data Management & Developing Data Management Plans
  • Publishing in Academic Journals: Finding the right/highest impact Journal for your Research

You could also check out the "Research Skills & Awareness Modules"  which are part of the Research Skills Development Programme (RSDP). These modules are accredited for Postgrad Researchers as part of the GST2 Module and are also available to Post Doctoral Researchers & Academics to audit. They are run twice a year in semester one and two. Times and dates are available here.

Contact ciaran.quinn@mu.ie if you'd like to attend.

Research workshops are also run throughout the year so keep an eye on the Library Website events page and social media.

 

Post Graduate Study Room

There is a post graduate study room on the top floor of the Library.  Request access at the Library desk.

 

Digital on Demand

The library is currently offering a ‘digital on demand’ service for library material digitization requests.  This service is free of charge and available for staff and all Postgraduate students (Research and Taught).  Digital on demand refers to some material which cannot be borrowed or if you cannot physically make it to the library on campus.

How does it work?

  • Items can be requested using this form
  • Upon submission of a request you must accept our copyright declaration stating that you only use the content in support of your remote teaching needs for the duration of the Covid-19 situation, that you only host this content on MU controlled access education platforms e.g. Moodle and MS Teams and that you only use this copy for non-commercial research, teaching or private study.  You must also permanently delete the copy if requested to do by the Library or the copyright holder
  • Once the library receives the submission, library staff will create a scanned copy of the requested article or book chapter and this will be emailed to the requestor

If you have any questions please contact us via LibraryChat on our homepage or library.information@mu.ie

Supporting your Research

Ciarán Quinn the Research Support Librarian is here to support researchers at all stages of the research journey.  

Support is offered in a broad range of areas including; searching for information, planning your search strategies, doing Literature & Systematic reviews, reference management, developing data management plans, depositing your research in open access repositories, identifying the best journals  to publish in, improving your research visibility and measuring your research impact.

For queries or to book an individual online consultation contact the Research Support Librarian ciaran.quinn@mu.ie

Lunchtime Workshops for Researchers Nov/Dec 2022

Altmetrics Explorer

Are you a Postgraduate/Researcher and want to know how Altmetrics can help you? These are metrics and qualitative data that tracks all your Research Output thus enhancing your Researcher profile. This suite of 4 videos offers an excellent overview of Altmetrics and how they can help you.

  • Part I: An Introduction to Altmetrics 
  • Part II: Tools & functionality,
  • Part III: Creating reports for your CV or Funding Applications 
  • Part IV: Making Altmetric Explorer work for you

Using Reference Management Tools to enhance your Research Output (Research Week 2021)

EndNoteX20 on Windows: in 7 minutes !

EndNoteX20: Desktop Version

EndNoteX20 is the latest version of EndNote Desktop which supercedes the version currently available in MU, EndNoteX9. 

It features a new interface design, improved PDF reading, new workflow enhancements and new options for detecting duplicates

If you are an existing user you can upgrade to EndNoteX20 via AppsAnywhere

If you are a new user, download EndNoteX20 from AppsAnywhere

To see what's new in EndNoteX20 check out the guide to EndNoteX20 here

Any queries contact the Research Support Librarian ciaran.quinn@mu.ie

 

Sage Research Methods Core

Supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Includes quick dictionary definitions, case study examples from researchers in the field, downloadable teaching datasets, full-text titles, and video tutorials showing research in action. It also includes useful Project Planning tool (which will bring you through the full research project process), a Methods Map, a "Which Stats Test" tool.

You can access it via the Library A-Z of Databases

You'll also find a useful guide here for Research Methods in the Social Sciences using Sage Research Methods. We don't subscribe to all the content mentioned but it's still really useful.

Lots more useful material here

Open Access Publishing Agreements

Open Access Publishing Agreements: These agreements typically allow corresponding authors from eligible institutions to publish their articles open access immediately on publication without having to pay a article processing charge. 

Research Support Librarian

Profile Photo
Ciaran Quinn
Contact:
Maynooth University Library
01 7086151
Website

Meet with your Research Support Librarian

Contact the Research Support Librarian with your queries.  Book individual consultations or arrange seminars/workshops for a group of colleagues or research students.

Possible topics include:

  • Developing your database searching skills
  • Updating your Scholarly Profile
  • Measuring, tracking & improving your Research Impact
  • Finding the best journal to publish in
  • Developing a Research Data Management Plan
  • Identifying the best databases & search strategies for your Systematic/Scoping Reviews
  • Publishing your research as Open Access.

Research Support Guides

undefined

Guides on a variety of topics to support you in your research,including:

Finding Information, Literature/Systematic Reviews, Reference Management, Scholarly Communication, Publishing in Academic Journal's, Open Access, Research Data Management, Measuring Research Impact and ORCID.

Research Skills Development Programme (RSDP)

undefined

The MU Research Skills Development Programme (RSDP) includes a series of courses (presented by the Research Support Librarian) under the heading of "Research Skills & Awareness", which are open to Research Students as accredited modules (GST2) and are also open to Post Doctoral Researchers and  Academics to audit.  They include classes on Research Impact, Research Data Management, Academic Publishing, Searching for Information and Reference Management. They are available in semester 1 and repeated in semester 2.

MU Online Resources

Library Search is a discovery tool which searches across most of the Libraries extensive  electronic collections (eJournals, eBooks etc) and is a great place to start your research.

A-Z of Databases: Listing of the databases MU Library Subscribes to. Each database listing has a brief description to help you decide which is most suitable for your research. Check out the subject guides for more advice on database selection.

A-Z of Online Journals, Books & More: This listing can be searched by title or browsed by subject area.

Maynooth University Research Archive Library (MURAL) is an institutional repository of ePublications which showcases the research output of Maynooth University and St. Patrick's College staff and postgraduate students.  Content includes academic journal articles, policy papers, book chapters, conference papers, working papers, technical reports and dissertations from our research students.

Digital Collections:  Current collections include the Ken Saro-Wiwa Audio Collection, the Salamanca Archives,, the Teresa Deevey Archive and Irish Script on Screen.