Training can be provided by the library in the use of Bibliometrics which includes: citation analysis / tracking, finding the top journals in your research area, measuring your research impact, or identifying current and potential research collaborations as well as providing tips on improving your visibility.

To avail of this service, please contact the Research Support Librarian.

EndNote

EndNote Online is a reference manager subscribed to by the Library. It stores up to 50,000 references and has a huge range of bibliographic referencing styles available to format your references. You can export references to it from the Library databases (and catalogue) and also from other sources such as PubMed and Google Scholar.

The Cite While you Write Plugin (which you can download) allows you to create in-text citations (and footnotes) and bibliographies in your word document from the references you've stored in EndNote.

To use EndNote Online just click the link above or go to the Web of Science Database (in the Library Databases A-Z) and click on the EndNote link to set up an account. Access is also available via Quick Links on the Library Home Page. You need to do this on campus for authentication purposes. Sign up via the "create an account" link on the top of the screen (There is also a option for a  Free Trial to the Desktop version of EndNote, you can ignore this.) Alternatively, to create an account or to log in, please click here.

For training or queries about EndNote Online contact the Teaching and Learning Librarian or the Research Support Librarian or attend one of the LIST training sessions. There is also an Online Tutorial available and an excellent help section in EndNote itself.

For a brief overview, read this EndNote guide.

Other Reference Management Software Programmes

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.

Zotero is a free research tool that helps you collect, organize, and analyze research and lets you share it in a variety of ways. Zotero includes the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references. It can also organize, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero interacts seamlessly with online resources: when it senses you are viewing a book, article, or other object on the web, it can automatically extract and save complete bibliographic references. It runs both as a web service and offline on your personal devices.

All postgraduate students should make themselves aware of the

Maynooth University Policy on Plagiarism