1. Maynooth Philosophical Papers: An anthology of current research from the Faculty of Philosophy MU
2. Heidegger Studies: Journal dedicated to the understanding of the thought of Martin Heidegger  
3. New Nietzsche Studies: journal of the Nietzsche Society, whose principal aim is "to promote the study of Nietzsche's philosophy

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

(in the MHRA style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.

1. The Philosopher's Index
2. Library of Latin Texts
3. International Philosophical Bibliography
4. Routledge Encyclopaedia of Philosophy
5. Cambridge Companion to Philosophy, Religion & Culture

Click here to search other Philosophy Databases.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Over 2,700 articles regularly updated. Links to web resources are provided. The articles are cross referenced and there are overview articles.

The Philosopher's Index

This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews