1. British Journal of Criminology is one of the longest running criminology journals, run by the Centre for Crime and Justice Studies. It accepts articles written from sociological, historical, philosophical, geographical, psychological, jurisprudential, cultural, political and policy standpoints.
2. Criminology & Criminal Justice is the official journal of the British Society of Criminology, focusing largely, but not exclusively, on criminal justice policy and practice, including policing, sentencing, terrorism and prisons.
3. European Journal of Criminology is the official journal of the European Society of Criminology. It provides a forum for research and scholarship on crime and criminal justice institutions across and beyond Europe.
4. Theoretical Criminology publishes articles which advance the theoretical aspects of criminological knowledge. Its articles are concerned with concepts, narratives and myths of crime, criminal behaviour, the sociology of deviance, morality and justice, social regulation and governance.
5. Punishment & Society publishes research dealing with punishment, penal institutions and penal control. The focus intersects critical scholarship on the penal field with historical and contemporary analyses of race, class, gender, and ethnicity; sociology of punishment; law & society; penal history; penal theory and philosophy of punishment.

(in the Harvard style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Law to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

The International Journal of Restorative Justice

The journal’s aim is to contribute to the development of restorative justice by discussing its diverse, challenging and innovative facets, as well as to encourage fruitful discussions and debates. The International Journal of Restorative Justice will appeal to academics and researchers, to practitioners and policy-makers, and to those who want to keep up to date with the rapid changes in the field of restorative justice. Each issue starts with an ‘Editorial’ by a leading restorative justice expert, followed by academic peer-reviewed articles concerning original and current research on theoretical, practice and policy developments.

1. PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
2. PsycINFO 1887-Current
3. Westlaw UK
4. Taylor & Francis Journals
5. EU Law Live

 A collection of over 700 journals spanning Social Sciences, Business, Humanities and many others.

Includes many Criminology journal titles. Access here.

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.