Skip to Main Content

Copy Working Remotely FT: Support for Staff

Requesting a Library Class

Would you like to book a library session for your students?

Our Teaching & Learning librarians can deliver our classes online, using Teams, or create a suite of online resources which we can embed in your module Moodle page. We will also be enhancing our content via Moodle so that the classes are developed as online offerings, including .ppts with audio, podcasts, extra tutorials and quizzes. Click on the links below to see details and book a class, or email aine.carey@mu.ie for more information.

SAGE Research Methods for Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels and across all Faculties, by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Includes quick dictionary definitions, case study examples from researchers in the field, downloadable teaching datasets, full-text titles, and video tutorials showing research in action. 

Research and Postgraduate Training available

Would you like to upskill? Contact our Research Support Librarian Ciarán Quinn, to request an online training session.

Topics include:

  • Finding information for your research
  • Literature Searching: What you need to know
  • Reference Management Software and avoiding Plagiarism
  • Your Researcher Impact: Measuring your Research Impact
  • Your Researcher Impact: Improving your Research Visibility
  • Your Researcher Impact: Managing your Online Profile
  • Research Data Management
  • Publishing in Academic Journals: Finding the right Journal for your Research
  • Using Maynooth Libraries Special Collections for your Research

Need an Inter-Library Loan/Document Supply?

MU Library's Inter Library Loan service is operating (with some restrictions) and requests can be submitted in the usual way: https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/library/using-library/inter-library-loans

An alternative option is Open Access content via Unpaywall, who harvest content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world. They also use great open data from PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license info), and DataCite.

Update: MU Library & access during Level 5 - Jan 2021

Students can now access the library for on-site study. There will be 4 2-hour bookable slots for study spaces each day. You must book in advance before coming to the Library. For full details please see here

Please use our online services and content first and consider carefully if you need to avail of our on-campus services.

Continuing Online Services
For access to our eBooks, please click here.

Click and Collect Services (print)
Click and Collect items will be available for collection during library opening hours. Please note that we are closed on Wednesdays and Sundays. For full details please see here 

Digital on Demand (scanning)
The library is currently offering a ‘digital on demand’ service for library material digitization requests.  This service is free of charge and available for staff and all Postgraduate students (Research and Taught).  Digital on demand refers to some material which cannot be borrowed or if you cannot physically make it to the library on campus. Items can be requested using this form
Further Information
All Maynooth University information and guidance related to Covid-19 is available here. 
We will continue to provide Library updates via our website and social media.  Please check your University email regularly for updates. 

Resources for your Teaching

These resources can be shared and circulated by embedding the links to your Moodle page to support student learning and upskilling.

For more extensive resources for your teaching and classes, take a look at the dedicated webpage here. 

Meet with the Academic Engagement Librarian on Teams

Meet with the Academic Engagement Librarian via Teams, to discuss library-related issues arising for your colleagues or students, and to plan ahead for the coming academic year - she is your liaison with MU Library on these issues and can work with you to improve many issues. Use the drop-down field to choose the length of consultation that suits you best (30/40 mins). Contact Helen Farrell, Academic Engagement Librarian, or schedule a meeting on MS Teams using the button below. 

Producing a Reading List for your Module

Locate the item you need, using LibrarySearch (MU Library's online catalogue).

Once you have found the article, book or eBook from your reading list, click the Permanent Link option (the icon that looks like 2 links in a chain) to get a stable link to the resource that you can add to your reading list (see image above). This link can be added to your Word document, email, or uploaded to Moodle.

This link will obviously bring your students to the record in the library catalogue. Maybe you want to link straight to the eBook or eJournal article? All our providers have a link sharing option within the eBooks and eJournals, even to specific chapters. The common icon to look out for is a "chain" link-type icon, or "permalink", "stable link", or "DOI" text. 

Book Order Form

Right now, eBooks are so important in terms of getting the right content to your students. Help us to speed up your order by ensuring you give us:

  • the ISBN (eBooks have ISBN's, as well as print)
  • tell us if there's no eBook available, are you willing to accept a print-version?
  • tell us how many copies of each eBook you need users to access? 3 concurrent readers would be the norm per eBook.

Read more about budgets and ordering here. 

Academic Workshops: Feb - Jul 2021

The Academic Engagement Librarian will be delivering a series of faculty training sessions online, Feb - July 2021, on the topics below. Online booking will open on Fri 12th Feb, 2021. 

  • Working remotely and using online content from MU Library: the basics – Fri 19th Feb @ 12.00
  • Using eBooks: getting started with the basics – Wed 31st March at 12.00
  • Developing your reading list and linking to content – Thu 22nd April @ 10.00
  • Maximising the use of library E-Resources in online learning – Mon 24th May @ 11.00
  • Staying current in your subject: setting up alerts – Tues 8th June @ 10.00
  • Open Educational Resources: how to adopt and use in your classroom – Mon 12th July @ 11.00
  • Linking up with alignment services for your module: enrich your pedagogy – Thu 29th July @ 12.00

These sessions can also be delivered on a one-to-one basis for faculty, or in small online groups for departments. Email with your requirements and we will be in touch. 

Book ordering resources

These websites are a useful source of academic book reviews and ordering information:

  • Book Data Online - good for looking up ISBN's, book details, availability and formats. 

  • British National Bibliography - good for looking up all UK/Irish titles since 1950's, UK library holdings, and details of forthcoming titles too. 

  • Whatever eJournal you use regularly to keep current in your subject area. 

Many of our eJournals and databases provide regular academic book reviews; you can even set up an alert in many of these online sites that will email you when a new book review is added. Email the academic engagement librarian for more information about this service. Because scholarly reviews tend to place the work in the context of current scholarship, they can sometimes take several years to appear after the book was published. I've chosen three major databases below to show you how to find reviews. You can then use this search to set up an email alert for updates. If you use JournalTOCs, the online table of contents alert service, your chosen journals will include book reviews as direct links too. 

  • JStor Use Advanced Search and limit to "Reviews". You can also limit by discipline.
  • Social Science Premium Collection Open Advanced Search. Enter "Book review" AND [your subject area]. 
  • Web of Science Conduct your search for book or author, and then limit to "Book Reviews".

Ordering outside of Reading List needs'?

Some academics have asked us if it is possible to order books that are not specifically for modules, perhaps on topics they have an interest in specifically, and we are more than happy to facilitate this. The Library aims to stock a wide range of research sources and materials to facilitate study and research for all its users. If you have any specific queries, contact the Academic Engagement Librarian

EndNote Click: nifty browser app that sources full-text PDFs for you

Try out the browser plugin for Chrome, EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio) that sources full-text PDF's for you as you search for content. It cuts out the off-campus logins and redirects, bringing you straight to the full-text content, available from your institution.

Microsoft Teams Support

Support available for Microsoft Teams here. 

Student Pathway for 2020 - 2021: what MU Library is providing for your students