Getting Started
Update your Profile on the Maynooth University Research Information System
Sign up for a ORCID identifier. ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognised. Check out the ORCID knowledge base.
Create a Google Scholar Citations Profile: Google scholar citations allows authors to track citations to their scholarly works and to calculate numerous citation metrics based on Google Scholar citation data. By setting up a profile, you will be able to disambiguate yourself from authors with the same or similar names and make yourself more findable on Google.
Create a Research Profile using Publons (Researcher ID) on the Web of Science Database available via the Libraries A-Z of Databases. Register with Web of Science to begin this process.
Check your Author ID on the Scopus database to make sure your details are correct. This identity is automatically generated if you have publications on Scopus.
Key Bibliometrics Databases
- SciVal This link opens in a new windowABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 4,600 institutions and 220 countries. To login: register for an account with Scopus and you can use the same Elsevier login credentials for SciVal. A great tool for benchmarking your progress and looking at collaborative partnerships. Uses the Scopus Dataset for its analysis. For access, please contact Ciarán Quinn on 01 7086156 or Ciaran.Quinn@mu.ie. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
It guides you through the search and discovery process from a single platform. You can search across data, books, journal articles, patents, and more. Use "More Settings" to select database to be searched. It also provides links to other resources such as the Incites (Bibliometrics) Database, Journal Citation Reports, Essential Science Indicators and EndNote (Reference Management & Citation Tool).
LSE Impact Blog
- Impact of Social Sciences (LSE)The LSE Impact blog is a hub for researchers, administrative staff, librarians, students, think-tanks, government, and anyone else interested in maximising the impact of academic work in the social sciences and other disciplines.
Loading ...
Research Impact and Metrics Guide
Alternative/Altmetrics
- Chartered Association of Business SchoolsThe Guide is based upon peer review, editorial and expert judgements following the evaluation of many hundreds of publications, and is informed by statistical information relating to citation. It is a guide to the range, subject matter and relative quality of journals in which business and management academics publish their research.
- CWTS Journal IndicatorsLeiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) provides the SNIP metrics for over 20,000 journals indexed in Scopus. These are the same SNIP measurements in Scopus but using this link they are free.
- Eigenfactor.orgA free and searchable database, journals listed in the Eigenfactor database may be searched by ISSN, publisher, year published, exact journal name or by using the Journal Citation Report ISI catagories.
- European Reference Index for the Humanities and the Social Sciences (ERIH PLUS)The European Reference Index for the Humanities and the Social Sciences (ERIH PLUS) was created and developed by researchers under the coordination of the European Science Foundation (ESF).
- Google Scholar CitationsGoogle Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles.
- Harzing: Journal Quality ListThe Harzing.com web site provides an annual Journal Quality List for a select group of social science and business journals. The Harzing web site provides the downloadable program Publish or Perish which uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search data to provide citation metrics
- Impact StoryImpactStory is an open-source, web-based tool that helps researchers explore and share the diverse impacts of all their research products--traditional ones like journal articles, but also alternative products like blog posts, datasets, and software
- Journals in Social Work and Related Disciplines: Manuscript Submission InformationPatrick Leung and Monit Cheung, two professions in the Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston have compiled data on a number of journals where social work researchers might submit articles. This list includes information from Journal Citation Report and is periodically updated.
- Publish or PerishPublish or Perish is a citation analysis tool which uses the Google Scholar Dataset to empower individual academics to present their case for research impact to its best advantage
- SciMago Journal and Country Rank (SJR)The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database
Bibliometrics Guides
- Cornell University Library GuideThis guide provides an introduction to the various metrics used to measure researcher and journal impact
- Duke University Guide to AltmetricsAltmetrics are statistics sourced from the social Web that can be used to help you understand the many ways that your work has had an impact with other scholars, the public, policy makers, practitioners, and more.
- UCD guide to BibliometricsAn excellent introduction to Bibliometrics including: Journal Impact, Researcher Impact, University Rankings and Altmetrics
- University of Utah GuideExcellent guide to information on bibliometrics and how the impact of journals, authors, and articles are measured.
Research Impact Books in the Library
The Impact of the Social Sciences by Dewey Number: 300.72 BASISBN: 9781446275108Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Beyond Bibliometrics by ISBN: 9780262525510Publication Date: 2014-05-16
Measuring Research by Dewey Number: 001.422 SUGISBN: 9780190640125Publication Date: 2018
Bibliometrics and Research Evaluation by Dewey Number: 020.727 GINISBN: 9780262035125Publication Date: 2016-10-07
Bibliometrics Discussion Documents
- Metrics TideThe Metric Tide: Report of the Independent Review of the Role of Metrics in Research Assessment and Management
- Leiden Manifesto for Research MetricsResearch evaluation has become routine and often relies on metrics. But it is increasingly driven by data and not by expert judgement. As a result, the procedures that were designed to increase the quality of research are now threatening to damage the scientific system. To support researchers and managers, five experts led by Diana Hicks, professor in the School of Public Policy at Georgia Institute of Technology, and Paul Wouters, director of CWTS at Leiden University, have proposed ten principles for the measurement of research performance: the Leiden Manifesto for Research Metrics published as a comment in Nature.
