Access
Special Collections Reading Room:
A valid MU/SPCM Student or Staff Library Card is required to access Special Collections.
If you are an External Reader you may access Special Collections. Please check with the Library Desk on the ground floor when using the Library for the first time.
Alternatively if you only require short term access, please go to the Library & IT Services Desk on the ground floor to request a visitor’s day pass.
Russell Library:
To search the Russell Library Collection only, please search the Russell Library online catalogue.
A valid MU/SPCM Student or Staff Library Card is required to access the Russell Library.
If you are an External Reader you may access the Russell Library. Please check with the Russell Library staff via phone, email or by pressing the buzzer located at the door to the Russell Library.
Alternatively if you only require short term access, please check with the Russell Library staff via phone, email or by pressing the buzzer located at the door to the Russell Library for short term access or tours.
Searching Special Collections
The library catalogue is a listing of the material the library holds and offers access to, both in digital or hardcopy formats.
You can search the MU Library Catalogue from the LibrarySearch Homepage.
For more information on searching the catalogue, please consult our Successful Searching Libguide.
Identifying Special Collections Items
When searching the catalogue you may come across results like in the image below.
Identifying a Special Collections Item:
Special Collections items can be identified by the SP, LY or AS prefix before the call number. Or alternatively they may have the word Russell written after the Call number, when located in the Russell Library as illustrated in the image below.
Special Collections items may only be used in the Special Collections Reading Room in the JPII Library or in the Russell Library. They cannot be borrowed from the library.
