Welcome
Welcome to the Special Collections and Archives library guide which provides information about the contents of our collections and details of how to access and consult material. These collections are open to staff and students, researchers and members of the public. They cover a wide range of subjects including theology, philosophy, mathematics history, geography, science, literature and languages. Other important collections cared for by Special Collections & Archives are medieval and Gaelic manuscripts, archival material and incunabula (pre-1501 printing).
Opening Hours
John Paul II Library Reading Room Opening Hours
Monday Tuesday and Thursday
10.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 4.30pm
Closed for appointments on Wednesday and Friday.
Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from
10.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 4.30pm
Closed for appointments on Wednesday and Friday.
Contact Us
John Paul II Library Special Collections Reading Room
Phone: 01-4747423
Address:
Special Collections & Archives,
John Paul II Library,
Maynooth University,
Maynooth, Co. Kildare
W23 VP22
e-mail:
library.specialcollections@mu.ie
Russell Library Reading Room
Phone: 01-7083890
Address:
Russell Library,
St. Patrick's College, Maynooth,
Maynooth, Co. Kildare
W23 VP22
e-mail:
Special Collections & Archives Staff
- Alexandra Caccamo, Special Collections Librarian
- Yvette Campbell, Assistant Librarian
- Róisín Berry, Archivist
- Ciara Joyce, Archivist
- Susan Durack, Senior Library Assistant
- Catherine Ahearne, Senior Library Assistant
- Darren Sturdy, Library Assistant
- Louise Walsworth Bell, Conservator
Special Collections & Archives
What is Special Collections & Archives?
Special Collections & Archives is home to the historical and special collections of St Patrick’s College Maynooth and Maynooth University which includes rare books, manuscripts, archives, newspapers, maps, pamphlets, limited and illustrated editions, and autographed copies. The Russell Library houses the historical collections of St. Patrick's College, Maynooth which contains approximately 34,000 printed works dating from the 15th to the mid 19th century across a range of subjects including: theology, mathematics, science, geography and history. The Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in the John Paul II Library contains the special and historical collections of Maynooth University, including over 8,000 printed works dating from the 15th century onwards, archival collections, calendars, directories and cartographic material.
The staff in Special Collections & Archives have a dual role, to preserve the collections in our care and to make them accessible to the research community. We work to actively embed our Unique and Distinctive Collections into the curriculum to support the teaching and learning goals of Maynooth University. We are also responsible for delivering a programme of exhibitions and events on campus and beyond.
Library Treasures Blog
- MU Library Treasures BlogThe MU Library Treasures Blog provides an insight into the early print, manuscript and other special collections of the Russell Library and John Paul II Library at Maynooth University. It has a range of highlights and interesting facts about the 40,000+ works in Special Collections & Archives and contains exhibition sneak peeks, staff picks and focus features. Check out this blog at MU Library Treasures.
John Paul II Library - Main Library
Here in the library, we are dedicated to helping you with your research and studies during your time in University. Our services reflect this dedication as we aim to provide you with an appropriate and comfortable environment which combines study and social spaces for both individual and group study.
The Library,
Maynooth University
Maynooth,
Co. Kildare, Ireland.
Tel: +353 1 708 3884
Fax: +353 1 628 6008
Ask Us
Web: www.maynoothuniversity.ie/library
