Skip to Main Content

Geography

Browse our best resources, organized by subject

Showing 1 Guides

Dec 20, 2024 34
Geography

Showing 33 Databases

Additional Databases
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database covering a large range of material in the social sciences and humanities.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences. .
Annual Reviews
Provides full text access to the Annual Reviews publications in Biomedical Sciences, Physical Sciences and some titles from the Social Sciences.
Archives Unbound

A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

Dictionary of Irish Biography
It is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.
Dissertations and Theses A&I
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, with more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses included, covering graduate research from 1861 to the present.
Dissertations and Theses: UK & Ireland
This is a listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716. (Incorporates Index to Theses)
Ebook Central
A large collection of authoritative ebooks on a wide range of subjects.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
It provides access to the library’s eContent collection. eContent is the digital version of books, journals, and database content. You can access your library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Economist Historical Archive
Provides access to the complete facsimile run of The Economist 1843 onwards, not including the last four years. It covers: news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
Economist Newspaper
All articles from The Economist print edition are published and the online archive dates back to June 1997. There is also a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes. To access older issues, click on click on 'Weekly Edition'/'Browse all Editions' . See also library database ‘Economist Historical Archive’ which covers 1843 - 2009.
Exam Papers Database
Exam Papers Electronic Retrieval Tool - two databases of examination papers from 1998 onwards for both St. Patrick's College and NUI Maynooth.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

Discover the histories of fifteen key commodities that changed the world through a wide range of sources. Explore themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and attempts at monopoly; trade Wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; mass production; luxury; taste; and the evolution of global branding.

GreenFILE
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles. It indexes and abstracts more than 538,000 records and provides Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Ireland's Historical Mapping

Ordnance Survey 6” colour & greyscale 1837-42; 25” greyscale 1888-1913. Historic layers. Free Resource. Access to this content is free and may change without warning.

Irish Newspaper Archive
Recommended access is via Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers. Consists of digitised Irish news publications from 1763 onwards. It includes: the Freeman's Journal, Irish Independent, Sunday Independent, Irish Farmers Journal and some regional newspapers.
Irish Times via Proquest
1995 to current, with today's issue being loaded at 8am CET (Central European Time). Provides access to current articles in pdf format. Some content e.g. death notices, advertisements, supplements may be excluded.
Journal Citation Reports
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
A comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-XV
JSTOR provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in the areas of arts & humanities, social sciences and science. We have access to collections I to XV.
LexisNexis - News & Business

Contains over 34,000 full-text sources including 12,000 news sources (The Irish Times, Sunday Business Post, Business & Finance, Financial Times and The Conversation) and a huge range of company, financial and industry sources.

Maynooth University ePrints and eTheses Archive (MURAL)
Is an institution repository which showcases the research output of Maynooth University and St. Patrick's College Staff and postgraduate students. This open access ensures the widest possible dissemination and impact for our work in Maynooth and contributes to the growing body of research literature that is freely available online.
more...
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Over 58,000 biographies of men & women who shaped British history and culture worldwide, from Roman times to the 21st century, as well as over 500 ‘Theme’ articles. Updated three time per year.
Oxford Reference Premium
This is a database of language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press available as a single cross-searchable resource. It includes maps, illustrations and various subject timelines. The Library subscribes to the ‘Premium’ collection. A lock icon indicates that an item is not available. Oxford Reference is updated regularly.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
It was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online including Deep Backfiles
A collection of over 1200 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Access from Vol.1 to current issue for most titles.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Provides full text journal articles for over 4,000 Elsevier titles an. Subjects covered include the social sciences, arts & humanities, as well as the sciences.
SciVal
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 4,600 institutions and 220 countries. To login: register for an account with Scopus and you can use the same Elsevier login credentials for SciVal. A great tool for benchmarking your progress and looking at collaborative partnerships. Uses the Scopus Dataset for its analysis. For access, please contact Ciarán Quinn on 01 7086156 or Ciaran.Quinn@mu.ie.
Scopus
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Social Sciences Citation Index
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
Coverage is from 1956 to the present. Following a standard search, you can click on ‘Cited by’ links in the results list. Alternatively, you can use ‘Cited Reference Search’ to find articles that cite or are cited by an author. It also exports references directly to EndNote Web. Use "More Settings" to include other indexes.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Full-text electronic access to nearly 2000 Taylor & Francis titles. This is a multidisciplinary resource including arts, humanities, science and social sciences.
UK & Ireland Reference Centre
UK & Ireland Reference Centre combines Irish, British & international sources to create a collection of full-text research publications. Magazine coverage includes full text of publications such as New Statesman, PC Magazine, National Geographic. Newspaper coverage includes full text of publications such as The Times (London), The Sun, The Daily Mail. Reference book full-text coverage includes The Columbia Encyclopedia. In addition, this database provides thousands of photos, maps and flags.

No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.

Geography Experts

No experts have been assigned to this subject.
title
Loading...