Proven outcomes from library classes
A number of studies have examined the outcome of library instruction on student confidence, academic performance and retention.
Some outcomes of delivering information literacy classes to students include:
- Creating a Search Strategy
- Knowing where to search
- Dealing effectively with the results
- Increased confidence in their academic skills
- Increased student retention
|
Bibliography Ain, C.T., Sabir, F. & Willison, J. 2018, "Research skills that men and women developed at university and then used in workplaces", Studies in Higher Education, , pp. 1-13. |
|
|
Bowles-Terry, M. 2018. "The impact of library instruction on student success" [Online]. Elsevier. Available: https://libraryconnect.elsevier.com/articles/impact-library-instruction-student-success [Accessed 30/08/2018 2018] |
Link |
|
Catalano, A. & Phillips, S.R. 2016, "Information literacy and retention: A case study of the value of the library", Evidence Based Library and Information Practice, vol. 11, no. 4, pp. 2-13. |
|
|
Jan, S.U., Anwar, M.A. & Warraich, N.F. 2018, "The relationship between emotional intelligence, library anxiety, and academic achievement among the university students", Journal of Librarianship and Information Science, , pp. 96100061879062. |
|
|
Murray, A., Ireland, A. & Hackathorn, J. 2016, "The value of academic libraries: Library services as a predictor of student retention", College and Research Libraries, vol. 77, no. 5, pp. 631-642. |
|
|
Olesova, L.A. & Melville, A.D. 2017, "Embedded Library Services: From Cooperation to Collaboration to Enhance Student Learning in Asynchronous Online Course", Journal of Library & Information Services in Distance Learning, vol. 11, no. 3-4, pp. 287-299. |
|
|
Oliveira, S.M. 2017, "The academic library's role in student retention: a review of the literature", Library Review, vol. 66, no. 4/5, pp. 310. |
|
|
Saunders, L. 2018, "Information Literacy in Practice: Content and Delivery of Library Instruction Tutorials", The Journal of Academic Librarianship, vol. 44, no. 2, pp. 269-278. |
|
|
Shao, X. & Purpur, G. 2016, "Effects of Information Literacy Skills on Student Writing and Course Performance", The Journal of Academic Librarianship, vol. 42, no. 6, pp. 670-678. |
|
|
Soria, K.M., Fransen, J. & Nackerud, S. 2013, "Library Use and Undergraduate Student Outcomes: New Evidence for Students’ Retention and Academic Success", portal: Libraries and the Academy, vol. 13, no. 2, pp. 147-164. |
|
|
Stovold, E.M. 2016, "Librarian-Led Information Literacy Training Delivered in Small Groups Improved Medical Students' Confidence in Their Ability to Use Evidence Based Resources Effectively", Evidence Based Library and Information Practice, vol. 11, no. 1, pp. 73-75. |
|
|
Stone, G. & Ramsden, B. 2013, "Library impact data project: Looking for the link between library usage and student attainment", College and Research Libraries, vol. 74, no. 6, pp. 546-559. |
Book a class for your students
Book a class here for your undergraduates, and taught postgraduates.
We can tailor classes to your students' needs and that of the curriculum, and can blend a number of approaches; these options are now available to you when booking. Book your class here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/class-request and give as much detail as possible, so we can tailor the class accurately.
Our classes are delivered in dedicated technology-enhanced training rooms (unless your class numbers exceed our capacity of 44). Students are required to have a laptop for the class, either their own, or a laptop can be made available from the library.
Our classes are interactive and skills-based, and will familiarise your students with MU library and provide a grounding in information literacy. Each class will introduce students to services and supports available to them through MU Library, the nature of academic information and why it matters for them, and finding important resources for their subject.
Optionally, we can build on these basic skills with up to two higher-level topics, which you can choose in the booking form, and which are.
- Searching effectively for information for your assignment
- Understanding and exploring databases (including primary source content), relevant to the module learning outcomes
- Fundamentals of referencing, avoiding plagiarism and good academic practice
- Using reference management software to support research (including EndNote)
If you would like to book a Research Skills training class for a group of postgraduate researchers or academics, with Ciarán Quinn, Research Support Librarian, browse and book your training here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/Research_Skills_Training
See also:
-
Special Collections & Archives: classes & teaching support -
Faculty training in information skills
Special Collections & Archives: teaching support
In support of departmental programmes, we teach classes which include the following:
- Aspects of book history which complement a particular area of study. This can provide an invaluable backdrop to research and give an understanding of the broader picture of publishing for a given period
- Introduction to the history of the book
- Introduction to manuscripts and archives
The Russell Library was designed by British architect and designer, Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin (1812-52), and completed in 1861. It houses the historical collections of St Patrick’s College, Maynooth which span ten centuries and a wide range of subjects. Contact the Russell Library for more information by telephone (+353 1 7083890) or email us.
The Special Collections Reading Room in the John Paul II Library houses the unique and distinctive collections of Maynooth University, including archival collections of private origin such as the papers of writers and other professionals, as well as documents of local interest. Contact Special Collections & Archives for more information by telephone (+353 1 4747423) or email us.
