Staff in Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) are committed to using our unique collections for research and teaching purposes. This rich and diverse resource can support various departmental programmes and provide an opportunity for students to engage with primary source material. SC&A teach classes which include the following:
Special Collections and Archives spans two sites at Maynooth; the historic Russell Library which houses the collections of St. Patrick’s College Maynooth, and the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in the John Paull II Library. If you would like to book a SC&A class or visit, please complete this form. If you would like to discuss how special collections can be used to support your teaching, please contact us at the email addresses below.
Russell Library, Phone: (+353 1 7083890) or email us.
Special Collections & Archives John Paul II Library, Phone (+353 1 4747423) or email us.
The Library occasionally runs drop in clinics in the John Paul II Library for students who want to learn how to use reference management products.
Please check the calendar to find out when our next clinic will be.
We can tailor classes to exactly your students needs and curriculum, and can blend a number of approaches. We are happy to discuss sources, learning outcomes and lesson plans with you in advance. Use our links to the booking forms below to arrange a class.
While the above classes are not prescriptive, they give an idea of some of the areas we cover. To discuss tailoring a class to your needs, or if you have any questions about a general class for your students, please email: email@example.com
Would you like to book a Research Skills training class for a group of Postgrad Researchers or Academics with Ciarán Quinn, Research Support Librarian? Check out the training he can offer here.
To schedule or discuss an undergraduate class, please contact:
Teaching & Learning Librarian & ALR
To schedule or discuss a postgraduate class, please contact:
Research Support Librarian