Requesting items
All items in Special Collections & Archives must be used only in the Special Collections & Archives' spaces.
Use the Russell.library@mu.ie to request any item showing 'Closed Access' / all manuscript & archival material.
Items from Special Collections that are manuscripts, books published pre-1850, outsize and fragile items must now be requested two working days in advance.
For all other Special Collections' items submit your requests before 14:00 for availability the next service day.
If requesting Archives items a request should be made at least one week in advance so that the material can be prepared.
Same-day requests may not be possible.
Items can be searched for on the Discovery Portal: COLLECTIONS - National University of Ireland - Maynooth (exlibrisgroup.com)
Searching for materials
To search the Russell Library Collection only, please search the Russell Library online catalogue.
The library catalogue is a listing of the material the library holds and offers access to, both in digital or hardcopy formats.
You can search the MU Library Catalogue from the LibrarySearch Homepage.
For more information on searching the catalogue, please consult our Successful Searching Libguide.
Advice to readers
All material is for consultation only and cannot be removed from Special Collections or borrowed from the Library.
Please wash your hands before entering Special Collections & Archives. When using Special Collections & Archives, staff will direct you to a locker. Please lock away bags and other personal possessions. Place coats and umbrellas on the coat-rails provided.
The Reading Rooms
Special Collections JPII
A valid MU/SPCM Student or Staff Library Card is required to access Special Collections.
If you are an External Reader you may access Special Collections. Please check with the Library Desk on the ground floor when using the Library for the first time.
Alternatively if you only require short term access, please go to the Library & IT Services Desk on the ground floor to request a visitor’s day pass.
Russell Library:
A valid MU/SPCM Student or Staff Library Card is required to access the Russell Library.
If you are an External Reader you may access the Russell Library. Please check with the Russell Library staff via phone, email or by pressing the buzzer located at the door to the Russell Library.
Alternatively if you only require short term access, please check with the Russell Library staff via phone, email or by pressing the buzzer located at the door to the Russell Library for short term access or tours.
Handling Materials
When handling material please remember:
- Hands must be clean
- Use book snakes to keep book pages open
- Use weights to keep maps or larger items lying flat
- Use book rests/cushions to support bindings
- Do not put any undue pressure on bindings
- Do not lean on the original item
- Never touch the surface of a print/drawing/photograph/map
- Ask for assistance if using rolled items, or folded items with attached seals
- Do not use flash on the camera
Food, drink and ink are not allowed in any of the reading rooms.
Please contact Special Collections staff if any assistance is needed
Identifying items on the catalogue
When searching the catalogue you may come across results like in the image below.
Identifying a Special Collections Item:
Special Collections items can be identified by the SP, LY or AS prefix before the call number. Or alternatively they may have the word Russell written after the Call number, when located in the Russell Library as illustrated in the image below.
Special Collections items may only be used in the Special Collections Reading Room in the JPII Library or in the Russell Library. They cannot be borrowed from the library.
