Welcome to Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections and Archives is home to the historical and special collections of St Patrick’s College Maynooth and Maynooth University which includes rare books, manuscripts, archives, newspapers, maps, pamphlets, limited and illustrated editions, and autographed copies.
The collection is based across two locations on campus the The Russell Library and The John Paul II reading room.
The Russell Library houses the historical collections of St. Patrick's College, Maynooth which contains approximately 34,000 printed works dating from the 15th to the mid 19th century across a range of subjects including: theology, mathematics, science, geography and history.
The Special Collections and Archives Reading Room in the John Paul II Library contains the special and historical collections of Maynooth University, including over 8,000 printed works dating from the 15th century onwards, archival collections, calendars, directories and cartographic material.
The staff in Special Collections and Archives have a dual role, to preserve the collections in our care and to make them accessible to the research community. We work to actively embed our Unique and Distinctive Collections into the curriculum to support the teaching and learning goals of Maynooth University. We are also responsible for delivering a programme of exhibitions and events on campus and beyond.
Special Collections Reading Room - Opening Hours
John Paul II Library
Special Collections Reading Room
Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday
10.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 4.30pm
Closed for appointments on Wednesday and Friday.
Phone: 01-4747423
e-mail: library.specialcollections@mu.ie
Special Collections and Archives
Special Collections and Archives Classes
Staff in Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) are committed to using our unique collections for research and teaching purposes. This rich and diverse resource can support various departmental programmes and provide an opportunity for students to engage with primary source material. SC&A teach classes which include the following:
- Aspects of book history which complement a particular area of study
- Introduction to the history of the book
- Introduction to manuscripts and archives
Special Collections and Archives spans two sites at Maynooth; the historic Russell Library which houses the collections of St. Patrick’s College Maynooth, and the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in the John Paull II Library. If you would like to book a SC&A class or visit, please complete this form. If you would like to discuss how special collections can be used to support your teaching, please contact us at the email addresses below.
Russell Library, Phone: (+353 1 7083890) or email us.
Special Collections & Archives John Paul II Library, Phone (+353 1 4747423) or email us.
Russell Library - Opening Hours
Russell Library - Reading Room
Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday
10.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 4.30pm
Closed for appointments on Wednesday and Friday.
Phone: 01-7083890
e-mail: library.russell@mu.ie
