Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and Archives

Copyright

The Special Collections and Archives library guide which provides information about the contents of our collections and details of how to access and consult material. These collections are open to staff and students, researchers and members of the public.

Copying items

MU Library or St. Patrick's College may or may not be the copyright holders for items in Special Collections. If you wish to take images of any of the items you will be required to complete a copyright form.

Users can bring their own cameras (no flash photography is permitted) to take images of material at no cost. Use of mobile phone and tablet cameras is permitted. The appropriate reprographics form must be completed for each item copied. Staff can explain this process on the day of your visit.

Reprographics

Reprographic requests include photocopies, printouts, digital images and scans. Request fulfilment is dependant on size, format and condition of the material. A reprographics request may not be permitted if an item is too fragile or if MU Library or St. Patrick's college is not the copyright holder. Please seek permission from staff first before using any device to copy.

Forms

Copying items

Reproducing Material

If images are taken by the user for private study/own use, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied. The forms for private study/own use depend on the nature of the source material:

  • Unpublished Material for Research/Private Study 
  • Published Material for Research/Private Study 

If images taken by the user for publication, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied. The forms for publication depend on the nature of the source material:

  • Reproduction for Publication

In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Special Collections Librarian

Data Protection

At Maynooth University, we treat your privacy seriously. Any personal data which you provide to the University will be treated with the highest standards of security and confidentiality, in accordance with Irish and European Data Protection legislation. This notice sets out details of the information that we collect, how we process it and who we share it with. It also explains your rights under data protection law in relation to our processing of your data.

All personal data received by the Library will be held safely and securely in compliance with the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the Data Protection Act (Ireland) 2018. The Library may retain personal data for operational, statistical and archival purposes. For further information please consult the University's Data Protection Policy: www.maynoothuniversity.ie/data-protection or contact the MU Data Protection Officer, at dataprotection@mu.ie

An t-eolas pearsanta ar fad a fhaigheann an Leabharlann bíonn sé slán agus sabháilte faoina coimirce ar mhaithe le Rialachán Ginearálta maidir le Cosaint Sonraí an Aontais Eorpaigh agus leis an Acht um Chosaint Sonraí (Éire) 2018 a chomhlíonadh. D’fhéadfadh an Leabharlann eolas pearsanta a choimead ar chúiseanna oibríochta, staitistiúil agus cartlainne. Le haghaidh tuilleadh eolais, téigh i gcomhairle le Polasaí  na hOllscoile um Chosaint Sonraí: www.maynoothuniversity.ie/data-protection nó téigh i dteagmháil le hOifigeach Cosanta Sonraí na hOllscoile ag dataprotection@mu.ie