1. Accounts of Chemical Research. Presents short, concise and critical articles offering easy-to-read overviews of basic research and applications in all areas of chemistry and biochemistry.
2. ACS Central Science. Multidisciplinary journal that aims to publish articles of interest to the broad chemistry and scientific community. Addresses the important advances in fundamental areas of chemistry, as well as applied and interdisciplinary research.
3. Current Chemistry Letters. A peer-reviewed international journal which aims to publish all the current and outstanding research articles, reviews and letters in chemistry including analytical chemistry, green chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, etc. 

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

(in the Harvard style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

1. Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
2. American Chemical Society 
3. Web of Science
4. Royal Society of Chemistry Current Journals
5. PubMed

Click here to search other Chemistry Databases.

Reaxys

It is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry. Reaxys has extensive coverage of quality, authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Expert chemists carefully select journals and patents so that only high-quality, experimental data are included in Reaxys.

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.