1. Chinese Literature Today. Explores contemporary trends in Chinese literature and to examine wider cultural contexts and various media. 
2. Frontiers of Literary Studies in China. Features updates and developments on various sub-fields of literature, from ancient to contemporary Chinese literature.
3. Journal of Chinese Linguistics. Academic journal mainly in English, which comprises research content from both general linguistics and Chinese linguistics
4. Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR). Established in 1978 (first issue in 1979), Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR) remains today the only Western-language journal devoted to Chinese literature. Each issue contains five-seven essays and articles on various aspects of traditional and modern literature and about the same number of detailed reviews, all in English. 

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

(in the Harvard style)

(In the Chicago Style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Chinese to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

1. Irish Association for Asian Studies (IAAS)
2. JSTOR
3. MLA International Bibliography 
4. Academic Search Complete

Click here to search other Chinese Databases.

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable database of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, biographies, bibliographies, key criticism and reference resources.

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.