Skip to main content

International Development

Journals & Databases

Top recommended Journals for International Development

  1. Administration & SocietySeeks to further the understanding of public and human service organizations, their administrative processes, and their effect on society. Empirical research reports and theoretical articles provide thoughtful and significant analyses of administrative issues at the federal, state and local levels.
  2. Critical Review of International Social & Political PhilosophyAn international academic journal designed to meet the world-wide interest in the health of ethnic groups. The journal also covers issues of culture, religion, gender, class, migration, lifestyle and racism, in so far as they relate to health and its anthropological and social aspects.
  3. The American Journal of Economics & Sociology. Its original mission by publishing thematic issues on institutional responses to contemporary disruptions of social harmony and environmental sustainability. 

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

How to reference a Journal Article

(in the Harvard style)

In-Text Reference: used when you are quoting or paraphrasing a source in the body of your essay. It follows an author-date format. The above reference would appear as (Markey, 2008) in-text.

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

Journals & Databases

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for Journals & Journal Articles in LibrarySearch below

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

Recommended Databases for International Development

Featured International Development Database

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

What is Peer Review?

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.