LibGuides: Supporting the Research Institutes: Library Databases

Search help

Use the search box to search the library's information resources. To limit your search to journals, articles etc., click the dropdown menu and select one of the options

Articles: Your search is limited to articles from journals. From your search results you can further drill down the results by using the facets in the left menu such as peer-review and online availability.

Books: This option retrieves e-books and printed books only.

Journals: Use this option if you are looking for a specific journal. The majority of our journals are available online. You can narrow your search results by using the facets in the left menu.
If you prefer to search for journal titles in an alphabetically sorted list, please use the Journals A-Z.

Databases: Enter words from the database title.
In the Database search you may browse by name, subject areas or type of content.

ePrints & eThesis: Choose this filter to search for Maynooth University theses.

Need more help? Go to search services to find search tips and additional links.

Why use Academic Databases?

Academic databases allow you to search across thousands of Journals to help you find that key article for your Research.
The articles are indexed to allow for better searching
Searching academic databases will save you time and effort in researching a subject area comprehensively
They help you find citations for your Literature review and will search beyond the database to find the full text of articles
They are a high quality academic resource ( unlike Google or Wikipedia !) funded by your University Library
There are a number of different specialised databases for different Research Subject areas
Research Consultations are available on request so contact me now and we can arrange a meeting.

Check out the full A-Z of Academic Databases held by the Library or filter the list by Subject.

There are also database guides specifically tailored to your subject area

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
It guides you through the search and discovery process from a single platform. You can search across data, books, journal articles, patents, and more. Use "More Settings" to select database to be searched. It also provides links to other resources such as the Incites (Bibliometrics) Database, Journal Citation Reports, Essential Science Indicators and EndNote (Reference Management & Citation Tool).

Scopus

Scopus This link opens in a new window
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
Provides access to the latest worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering a large range of material in the social sciences and humanities.

JSTOR

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-XV This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in the areas of arts & humanities, social sciences and science. We have access to collections I to XV.

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
This is a database of language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press available as a single cross-searchable resource. It includes maps, illustrations and various subject timelines. The Library subscribes to the ‘Premium’ collection. A lock icon indicates that an item is not available. Oxford Reference is updated regularly.

Dissertations & Thesis

Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
ABSTRACTING & INDEXING (A&I) DATABASE
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, with more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses included, covering graduate research from 1861 to the present.

eBrary

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A large collection of authoritative ebooks on a wide range of subjects.

Newspapers

Irish Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Recommended access is via Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers. Consists of digitised Irish news publications from 1763 onwards. It includes: the Freeman's Journal, Irish Independent, Sunday Independent, Irish Farmers Journal and some regional newspapers.

Maynooth University & Maynooth University logo are registered trademarks of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth.