Special Collections & Archives: classes & teaching support
Staff in Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) are committed to using our unique collections for research and teaching purposes. This rich and diverse resource can support various departmental programmes and provide an opportunity for students to engage with primary source material. SC&A teach classes which include the following:
- Aspects of book history which complement a particular area of study
- Introduction to the history of the book
- Introduction to manuscripts and archives
Special Collections and Archives spans two sites at Maynooth; the historic Russell Library which houses the collections of St. Patrick’s College Maynooth, and the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in the John Paull II Library. If you would like to book a SC&A class or visit, please complete this form. If you would like to discuss how special collections can be used to support your teaching, please contact us at the email addresses below.
Russell Library, Phone: (+353 1 7083890) or email us.
Special Collections & Archives John Paul II Library, Phone (+353 1 4747423) or email us.
Reference Management Clinics
The Library occasionally runs drop in clinics in the John Paul II Library for students who want to learn how to use reference management products.
Please check the calendar to find out when our next clinic will be.
Book a class for your students
Book a class here for your undergraduates, and taught postgraduates.
We can tailor classes to your students' needs and that of the curriculum, and can blend a number of approaches; these options are now available to you when booking. Book your class here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/class-request and give as much detail as possible, so we can tailor the class accurately.
Our classes are delivered in dedicated technology-enhanced training rooms (unless your class numbers exceed our capacity of 44). Students are required to have a laptop for the class, either their own, or a laptop can be made available from the library.
Our classes are interactive and skills-based, and will familiarise your students with MU library and provide a grounding in information literacy. Each class will introduce students to services and supports available to them through MU Library, the nature of academic information and why it matters for them, and finding important resources for their subject.
Optionally, we can build on these basic skills with up to two higher-level topics, which you can choose in the booking form, and which are.
- Searching effectively for information for your assignment
- Understanding and exploring databases (including primary source content), relevant to the module learning outcomes
- Fundamentals of referencing, avoiding plagiarism and good academic practice
- Using reference management software to support research (including EndNote)
If you would like to book a Research Skills training class for a group of postgraduate researchers or academics, with Ciarán Quinn, Research Support Librarian, browse and book your training here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/Research_Skills_Training
See also:
-
Special Collections & Archives: classes & teaching support -
Faculty training in information skills
Contacts
To discuss undergraduate classes, please contact:
Áine Carey
Teaching & Learning Librarian & ALR
To schedule or discuss a postgraduate class, please contact:
Ciarán Quinn
Research Support Librarian
