1. Classical Philology 

The Classical Philology journal covers a broad range of topics, including studies that illuminate aspects of the languages, literatures, history, art, philosophy, social life, material culture, religion, and reception of ancient Greece and Rome.

2. Ancient Narrative 

Ancient Narrative covers areas of interest such as: Greek, Roman, Jewish novelistic traditions, including novels proper, the "fringe", as well as the fragments; narrative texts of the Byzantine age, early Christian narrative texts, and the reception of these works in modern literature, film and music.

3. Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies 

GRBS is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance, featuring research on all aspects of the Hellenic world from prehistoric antiquity through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods, including studies of modern classical scholarship.

4. Classics Ireland

Classics Ireland is a peer-reviewed, Dublin-based journal for the study of the ancient world, in particular ancient Greece and Rome and their modern legacy. It is published by the Classical Association of Ireland, which was founded in 1908. Classics Ireland has been published annually since 1994

5. The Journal of classics teaching

Now online and open access the Journal of Classics Teaching (JCT) aims to be the leading journal for teachers of Latin, ancient Greek, Classical Civilisation and Ancient History internationally. JCT covers the primary, secondary and tertiary education sectors and welcomes articles and short book reviews of interest to Classics teachers.

(in the Harvard style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

1. Loeb Classical Library: 
2. Oxford Classical Dictionary:
3. Library of Latin Texts: 
4. Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics: 
5. TOCS-IN

Click here to search other Ancient Classics Databases.

Brill's New Pauly

It is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly. The section on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history. The section on the Classical Tradition is concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity.

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Chegg.com

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.