Skip to Main Content

Ancient Classics

Online Resources

Key Websites for Studying Ancient Classics

This is a list of some key recommended websites for the study of Ancient Classics.

  1. Classical Association of Ireland: Their aim is to keep you informed about the association and to provide you with essential information in an easily accessible manner.
  2. Ancient World Mapping Centre: Promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.
  3. Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: This source has expanded greatly since its creation, and now contains hundreds of local files as well as links to source texts throughout the net.
  4. Theoi: A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art.
  5. A Don's Life: The blog of renowned classicist Mary Beard.

 

Ancient Greek and Latin Language

Oxford Guides

Oxford Classical Dictionary Guides to all aspects of the ancient world- political, economic, philosophical, religious, artistic, and social.

Oxford Reference Premium This is a database of language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press available as a single cross-searchable resource. It includes maps, illustrations and various subject timelines. The Library subscribes to the ‘Premium’ collection. A lock icon indicates that an item is not available. Oxford Reference is updated regularly.

Oxford World Classics A continuous programme of new titles and revised editions ensures that the series retains its breadth and reflects the latest scholarship.

Online Resources

While it is required to use academic sources provided by the Library such as Books and Journals & Databases for your assignments and research, good quality online resources can make an important difference to your work.

 

In this Online Resources section of our Ancient Classics guide, we’ve collected together information on

  1. The best online resources for Ancient Classics that will help you do well in your studies and
  2. Some advice on how to get the most out of these resources.

Be careful!: Unlike academic resources, general online resources often don’t go through a process to check they are of high quality. So you will need to assess them yourself by following the advice below and reading our Evaluating Information Advice.

Is an online source reliable or not?

When you encounter online information you should ask yourself five Questions:  

  1. How recently was the information published / updated? 
  2. Is it relevant to your work?
  3. Do you trust the author?
  4. Is it supported by evidence?
  5. For what reason was the information published?

 

Find out more about Evaluating Information in our Successful Searching Guide.

How to reference something you found online

In the Harvard Style

In-Text Reference: used when you are quoting or paraphrasing a source in the body of your essay. It follows an author-date format. The above reference would appear as (Beard, 2006) in-text.

Remember:

In the same way you reference books and journal articles, you need to reference anything you find online. 

You might not be able to find all of the information (e.g. some webpages have no individual author), but take note of the information that's available and put it into your referencing style.

 

For more information on how to reference online resources see our referencing guide.

MU Ancient Classics Departmental Website

The Department of Ancient Classics website provides up to date information and news for that department.

For students and staff of the department, it also provides access to key information such as

  1. The Departmental Handbook
  2. Essay Cover Sheets for assignments.
  3. Details of Departmental staff and their areas of interest.

 

 

Maynooth Library Website

When you want to find information that will help you with your academic work, we recommend you start with the MU Library website.

It's your one stop portal to finding out everything about the Library, including:

  • Opening hours
  • Our collections
  • Our Library Catalogue
  • And much more - all available here.