This is a list of key recommended websites for the study of Anthropology.

1. Anthropology Ireland. The Anthropological Association of Ireland exists to promote social and cultural anthropology within Ireland. This website includes access to publications, newsletters and more.
2. Smithsonian Institution Human Origins Initiative. This website is dedicated to bringing you the excitement, latest findings, and profound implications of the scientific exploration of human origins.
3. American Anthropology Association. The AAA website provides access to a wide range of publications, resources, webinars, programmes. 
4. Journal TOCs. A free, large collection of scholarly journals’ table of contents ‘TOC’s. You can create your own account to select your ‘Followed’ journals. JournalTOCs will alert you when new issues of these journals are published.

In the Chicago Style

Remember:

In the same way you reference books and journal articles, you need to reference anything you find online. 

You might not be able to find all of the information (e.g. some webpages have no individual author), but take note of the information that's available and put it into your referencing style.

For more information on how to reference online resources see our referencing guide.

While it is required to use academic sources provided by the Library such as Books and Journals & Databases for your assignments and research, good quality online resources can make an important difference to your work.

In this Online Resources section of our Anthropology guide, we’ve collected together information on

1. The best online resources for Anthropology that will help you do well in your studies and
2. Some advice on how to get the most out of these resources.

Be careful!: Unlike academic resources, general online resources often don’t go through a process to check they are of high quality. So you will need to assess them yourself by following the advice below and reading our Evaluating Information Guide.

When you encounter online information you should ask yourself five Questions:  

1. How recently was the information published / updated? 
2. Is it relevant to your work?
3. Do you trust the author?
4. Is it supported by evidence?
5. For what reason was the information published?

Find out more about Evaluating Information in our Successful Searching Guide.

The Department of Anthropology’s website provides up to date information and news for that department.

For students and staff of the department, it also provides access to key information such as

1. The Departmental Handbook
2. Essay Cover Sheets for assignments.
3. Details of Departmental staff and their areas of interest.

When you want to find information that will help you with your academic work, we recommend you start with the MU Library website.

It's your one stop portal to finding out everything about the Library, including:

• Opening hours
• Our collections
• Our Library Catalogue
• And much more - all available here.