1. English Literature. Theories, Interpretations, Contexts - The journal provides room for a critical analysis of issues and themes concerning English literature, also in a comparative view
2. Early Modern Literary Studies - Is a refereed journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly discussion and as an academic resource for researchers in the area
3. International Journal of Education & Literacy Studies - IJELS is a peer-reviewed journal that contributes to research and practice in the area of education and literacy. In addition to research articles, the journal welcomes review articles, conceptual papers, short communications, book reviews, and interviews in the area of education and literacy.

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

(in the MLA style)

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide.

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

1. 1. Cambridge Companions 

   2. JSTOR eBooks 

   3. JSTOR Life Science 

   4. Drama Online 

   5. Project Muse 

   6. 1. Cambridge Companions 

      2. JSTOR eBooks 

      3. JSTOR Life Science 

      4. Drama Online 

      5. Project Muse 

2. Cambridge Companions
3. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
4. London Review of Books 
5. Literature Online (LION)
6. Project Muse

Click here to search other English Databases.

Drama Online

The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. 

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.