Skip to main content

History

Journals & Databases

Top recommended Journals for History

  1. History Irelandaims to provide the reader with a wide variety of topics from the earliest times to the present day; giving the reader a sense of the distant past while offering a contemporary edge.
  2.  Early Medieval Europe. source of information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century.
  3.  Electronic Journal of International HistoryEmbraces all aspects of the history of relations between states and societies, and aimsto promote an understanding of the breadth, depth and policy relevance of international history.

You can search for other academic journals by typing the title of the journal into LibrarySearch below.

How to reference a Journal Article

(in the Irish Historical Studies style)

In-Text Reference: Irish Historical Studies uses the footnote style of referencing.

For more information on how to reference online resources see our Referencing Guide
.

Military history

Journals & Databases

What are they?

Journal: An academic journal is a specialist publication where academics and researchers can publish and communicate their work. A journal publishes articles, research papers and reviews of a high quality that have been reviewed by experts in the subject.

Databases: Library databases contain information about published academic research. Like journals, they contain peer reviewed articles but also reports, datasets, facts and figures, theses and dissertations and all manner of academic information related to your subject.

Using journals and databases should form part of your Search Strategy. For more information, see our Successful Searching Guide.

It is important for students and researchers of Subject to have access to the latest peer review research. On this page, you can find the library’s most recommended journals and databases for Subject.

Search for Journals & Journal Articles in LibrarySearch below

Search for journal articles held by typing keywords into the box below.

When you find the journal article you need, click on the Title or Full Text Online to read it. If you have difficulty accessing journal articles or databases, let us know through our query form.

What is Peer Review?

(CC flickr by AJCann; user:AJC1)

“The evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field” – Oxford English Dictionary

You are expected to use Peer Review research in your work.

Explore Peer Review in more detail in our Successful Searching Guide.

Featured History Database

Irish History Online

A listing of books, journal articles, pamphlets & stand-alone chapters on Irish history, published mainly from 1930 onwards. Titles are added regularly. Free access