LibGuides: How to Guides for MU Library Databases: Primary Sources Databases

Guide to Online Primary Sources

This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The product includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.

Anthropological Fieldwork Online

Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.

Archive of Celtic Latin Literature (ACLL)

A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 AD. n.b. after clicking on the link you then have to click on 'enter databases' and the select the required database.

ProQuest Primary Sources

ProQuest Primary Sources
MU has invested in 75 multidisciplinary resources from ProQuest. You now have instant access to thousands of journals, dissertations, primary-source documents and videos. These materials can be accessed anytime, anywhere from any faculty member or student with a MU account. Click on the product name or LibGuide links below for information and to access the databases. For example: "Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period", "Cecil Papers", "Colonial State Papers", "Country Life Archive", "Documents on British Policy Overseas" and much more.
ProQuest Primary Sources Guide
ProQuest Primary Sources Guide UK & Ireland
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Adam Mathew

https://www.amdigital.co.uk/

Primary sources for teaching and research

Adam Matthew Digital

Adam Matthew Digital’s unique research and teaching products span the social sciences and humanities and provide access to over five centuries of primary source materials. Working in collaboration with leading libraries, archives and academics around the world, Adam Matthew Digital enhances primary sources using innovative technology in order to empower current and future generations to challenge, analyse and debate. The growing portfolio of multidisciplinary products range from African American Communities and Sex and Sexuality to Socialism on Film, Shakespeare’s Globe Archive, and many more. These thematic-based products are carefully curated to meet current and future research demands of the global academic community. https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/adam-matthew-digital

Gale Primary Sources

Gale Product Menu

Gale Cengage Primary Sources
Working with the academic community and archives across the world, Gale digitize physical materials and apply unique search technology designed to aid discovery in academic research, helping researchers develop new ideas and deliver original research at all levels of study.

For example:

Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926

Alexander Street

Alexander Street Publishers
Discover digital content that directly supports course curricula at your institution. Partnering with Alexander Street means your library will significantly broaden faculty and student access to learning and scholarly content. Purchase and subscription options provide flexibility in managing tightening budgets, and demand-driven acquisition models help you achieve maximum ROI.