Google Scholar
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.
To get started, you can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.
You can also explore publications in research areas of your interest. To browse publications in a broad area of research, select one of the areas in the left column. For example: Engineering & Computer Science or Health & Medical Sciences.
To explore specific research areas, select one of the broad areas, click on the "Subcategories" link and then select one of the options. For example: Databases & Information Systems or Development Economics.
Browsing by research area is, as yet, available only for English publications. You can, of course, search for specific publications in all languages by words in their titles.
Scholar Metrics are currently based on Google Scholars Index as it was in July 2023.
About Google Scholar
Using Google Scholar to view your Research Impact
Google Scholar available Metrics
Available Metrics
- The h-index of a publication is the largest number h such that at least h articles in that publication were cited at least h times each. For example, a publication with five articles cited by, respectively, 17, 9, 6, 3, and 2, has the h-index of 3.
- The h-core of a publication is a set of top cited h articles from the publication. These are the articles that the h-index is based on. For example, the publication above has the h-core with three articles, those cited by 17, 9, and 6.
- The h-median of a publication is the median of the citation counts in its h-core. For example, the h-median of the publication above is 9. The h-median is a measure of the distribution of citations to the articles in the h-core.
- Finally, the h5-index, h5-core, and h5-median of a publication are, respectively, the h-index, h-core, and h-median of only those of its articles that were published in the last five complete calendar years.
They display the h5-index and the h5-median for each included publication. They also display an entire h5-core of its articles, along with their citation counts, so that you can see which articles contribute to the h5-index. Click on the citation count for any article in the h5-core to see who cited it.
Google Scholar Profiles
Institutional Profiles: When you are setting up your Google Scholar Profile be sure to add the correct Maynooth University Affiliation details to your GS profile so your profile will be included in the MU Institutional profile. If you already have a GS Profile check it to make sure your email and Affiliation are up to date. Search Google Scholar Profiles https://scholar.google.com/citations?hl=en&view_op=search_authors&mauthors=maynooth&btnG=
Top Universities by citations in Top GS Profiles
- GS University RankingsFollowing the request of many universities, we decided not to use temporally the Google Scholar Citations (GSC) institutional profiles in this edition. GS is still working for extending their coverage, but unfortunately their resources are limited and there is no final date for finishing the task. The number of profiles is over 5000, but it is far for covering our full directory. We are still committed to the use that key source, but in the meantime we are collecting citations for the lists obtained from filtering GSC profiles by the (main and only the main) institutional web domains used in the Ranking Web (email domains in GSC).
- Top Irish Universities by GS ProfilesCurrent edition January 2024. The "Webometrics Ranking of World Universities" is an initiative of the Cybermetrics Lab, a research group belonging to the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), the largest public research body in Spain. https://www.webometrics.info/en/About_Us
Coverage of Publications
Google Scholar Metrics currently cover articles published between 2018 and 2022, both inclusive. The metrics are based on citations from all articles that were indexed in Google Scholar in July 2023. This also includes citations from articles that are not themselves covered by Scholar Metrics.
Since Google Scholar indexes articles from a large number of websites, we can't always tell in which journal a particular article has been published. To avoid misidentification of publications, we have included only the following items:
- journal articles from websites that follow our inclusion guidelines;
- selected conference articles in Engineering and Computer Science.
Furthermore, we have specifically excluded the following items:
- court opinions, patents, books, and dissertations;
- publications with fewer than 100 articles published between 2018 and 2022;
- publications that received no citations to articles published between 2018 and 2022.
Overall, Scholar Metrics cover a substantial fraction of scholarly articles published in the last five years. However, they don't currently cover a large number of articles from smaller publications.
Source: Google Scholar Metrics Help
Google Scholar Inclusion Manual
- Inclusion Guidelines for WebMastersThis documentation describes the technology behind indexing of websites with scholarly articles in Google Scholar. It's written for webmasters who would like their papers included in Google Scholar search results. Detailed technical information is helpful if you're trying to fix an error in indexing of your own website, or you need to make sure that your article hosting product is compatible with Google and Google Scholar search services.
Advantages & Limitations of Google Scholar
Advantages of using Google Scholar:
- Google Scholar is familiar and relatively simple to use, much like Google.
- Google Scholar allows users to search for a find a wide variety of materials including articles, books, "grey literature" like conference proceedings on a vast number of topics.
- Google Scholar allows for you to see articles related to the one that might interest you, how many times an article has been cited and by whom, and provides citations for articles in a number of styles.
- Google Scholar can display links to articles and books held through MU Libraries. Use Settings & Library links in your Google Scholar Account to set this up.
- Google Scholar allows you to save both citations and articles to read later.
Disadvantages of using Google Scholar:
- Google Scholar's coverage is wide-ranging but not comprehensive. Google Scholar posseses materials from many different publishers, but does not always clearly list the names of the publishers.It can be a research source, but should not be the only source you use.
- Google Scholar does not provide the criteria for what makes its results "scholarly". Results are often vary in quality and it is up to the researcher to determine which of the results are suitable for their purposes.
- Google Scholar does not allow users to limit results to either peer reviewed or full text materials or by discipline.
- Google Scholar does not provide notice of when its materials are updated.
- Google Scholar's citation tracker can be difficult to use and may be inaccurate.
Google Scholar, Web of Science, and Scopus: a systematic comparison of citations in 252 subject categories.
- Google Scholar, Web of Science & Scopus MetricsDespite citation counts from Google Scholar (GS), Web of Science (WoS), and Scopus being widely consulted by researchers and sometimes used in research evaluations, there is no recent or systematic evidence about the differences between them. In response, this paper investigates 2,448,055 citations to 2,299 English-language highly-cited documents from 252 GS subject categories published in 2006, comparing GS, the WoS Core Collection, and Scopus. GS consistently found the largest percentage of citations across all areas (93%-96%), far ahead of Scopus (35%-77%) and WoS (27%-73%). GS found nearly all the WoS (95%) and Scopus (92%) citations. Most citations found only by GS were from non-journal sources (48%-65%), including theses, books, conference papers, and unpublished materials. Many were non-English (19%-38%), and they tended to be much less cited than citing sources that were also in Scopus or WoS. Despite the many unique GS citing sources, Spearman correlations between citation counts in GS and WoS or Scopus are high(0.78-0.99). They are lower in the Humanities, and lower between GS and WoS than between GS and Scopus. The results suggest that in all areas GS citation data is essentially a superset of WoS and Scopus, with substantial extra coverage.
Google Scholar Content Coverage
- Content CoverageGoogle Scholar includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. You'll find works from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies and university repositories, as well as scholarly articles available anywhere across the web. Google Scholar also includes court opinions and patents.
