LibGuides: Measuring Research Impact: Key Databases for Measuring Research Impact

Scopus Content Coverage

Scopus Content Coverage
Scopus covers 240 disciplines to ensure researchers, instructors, librarians and students have confidence that they are not missing out on the vital information they need to advance their research and scholarship.
Learn how the interdisciplinary depth and breadth of Scopus can help drive your organization’s research forward.
Scopus Content Policy & Selection
Scopus has a clearly stated selection policy and a board of selection experts, you'll find details of evaluation criteria for inclusion for Books, journals, Conference Proceedings & Pre-Prints

How to assess an author's impact in Scopus

Overview of Journal Metrics in Scopus

Publish or Perish

Key Bibliometrics Databases

Scopus (Elsevier)
- This is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. It's also really useful for analysing author/institutional research output, and finding the top ranking journals in your field.
SciVal (Elsevier)
- SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 4,600 institutions and 220 countries. To login simply use your Scopus Login (you need to register with Scopus to obtain this) or Sign in using your Institutional profile. SciVal is a great tool for benchmarking your research performance at a individual group or institutional level, getting metrics for scholarly output, % of articles published in the top Journals, identifying current and potential collaborations, Tracking & demonstrating progress towards the SDG's, analyzing Rankings and much much more.
SciMago Journal and Country Rank (SJR)
- The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country.

Web of Science (Clarivate)
- Guides you through the search and discovery process from a single platform. You can search across data, books, journal articles, patents, and more. Use "More Settings" to select database to be searched. It also provides links to other resources such as the Publons (to show your research impact), Journal Citation Reports, Essential Science Indicators and EndNote (Reference Management & Citation Tool).
Google Scholar/Publish or Perish
- Publish or Perish is a citation analysis tool developed by Dr. Anne-Wil Harzing of the University of Melbourne which uses Google Scholar citation data. It is free for personal non-profit use and can be installed from http://www.harzing.com/pop.htm.
- Google Scholar covers more books, theses, conference papers, technical reports and other academic publications than either Web of Science or Scopus.
  - However, coverage in Google Scholar is uncontrolled and there is no definitive list of all publications that are included.
  - Citation analysis results from Publish or Perish favour those who have personally made their articles available online, for example through institutional or subject repositories.
  - In addition to Google Scholar, you can also use Publish or Perish to search other data sources such as Microsoft Academic and CrossRef.