Skip to Main Content

Reference Management Software

EndNote Online

Introduction to EndNote, Endnote Online, and other Reference Management tools that you can use to store your references and create bibliographies and citations for your papers.

EndNote Online

Endnote Online (Basic) is a companion product to EndNote Desktop.

MU Library provides access to an enhanced version of EndNote Online (also referred to as EndNote Basic) via its subscription to the Web of Science Database (see products link) which is available via the Library A-Z of Databases. The version of EndNote basic available as part of the Web of Science has thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. 

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online is a Web based Reference Management tool that helps you collect references (Author, Title, Date, Publisher) of the resources you have read and then put them in to the format required for your assignments/papers/publications.

It will allow you to create your own online Library of the material you have found and then generate In-text Citations and a Bibliography as you write your paper. A number of different referencing styles are available ,they are arranged by style name and Journal Title. It will store 50,000 records and allows 2GB of file (PDF & Image) storage. If you download EndNote Desktop you will be upgraded to unlimited online storage.

How do I create an EndNote Online account?

Register for a EndNote Account (or link to an existing account) using the following link.

You can also access EndNote via the Web of Science database by clicking on the EndNote Tab located under products (top right of the WOS homepage). If you are off campus make sure you login for off campus access before using this option. 

When you have an Online Endnote Account you'll need to populate it (by exporting the records from databases you are using) with your references and sort them into groups.  You can also download the Cite while you Write tool , which is available under the downloads tab. This will allow you to create In-Text Citation's, Footnotes and Bibliographies, in your word document with data drawn from your references stored in EndNote.

There is also a tool called Endnote Click which you can download which is very useful for capturing the PDF's of articles.

EndNote Click

EndNote Online: A Brief Intoduction

EndNote Online Notes

Introducing EndNote Click

EndNote Online: Tutorial

Synching EndNote Online & EndNote Desktop