• Supporting your module planning
• Resources for your teaching
• Workshops for MU staff: 2022 - 2023
• Book a library class for your students
• Sage Research Methods for Faculty
• Use our databases? News on single sign-on...
• Producing a Reading List for your Module
• Book Order Form
• Need an Inter-Library Loan/Document Supply?
• Book ordering resources
• Ordering outside of Reading List needs’?
• Research Skills Training for Postgraduate Researchers & Academics available

Book a class here for your undergraduates, and taught postgraduates.

We can tailor classes to your students' needs and that of the curriculum, and can blend a number of approaches; these options are now available to you when booking. Book your class here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/class-request and give as much detail as possible, so we can tailor the class accurately.

Our classes are delivered in dedicated technology-enhanced training rooms (unless your class numbers exceed our capacity of 44). Students are required to have a laptop for the class, either their own, or a laptop can be made available from the library.

Our classes are interactive and skills-based, and will familiarise your students with MU library and provide a grounding in information literacy. Each class will introduce students to services and supports available to them through MU Library, the nature of academic information and why it matters for them, and finding important resources for their subject.

Optionally, we can build on these basic skills with up to two higher-level topics, which you can choose in the booking form, and which are.

• Searching effectively for information for your assignment
• Understanding and exploring databases (including primary source content), relevant to the module learning outcomes
• Fundamentals of referencing, avoiding plagiarism and good academic practice
• Using reference management software to support research (including EndNote)

If you would like to book a Research Skills training class for a group of postgraduate researchers or academics, with Ciarán Quinn, Research Support Librarian, browse and book your training here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/Research_Skills_Training

See also:

• Special Collections & Archives: classes & teaching support

• Research Skills Training
• Faculty training in information skills

SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels and across all Faculties, by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Includes quick dictionary definitions, case study examples from researchers in the field, downloadable teaching datasets, full-text titles, and video tutorials showing research in action. Make sure to scroll right down the page, right to the end, where you'll also find an excellent Faculty guide with useful examples of use in the classroom.  

Would you like to upskill? Contact our Research Support Librarian Ciarán Quinn, to request a bespoke training session tailored to your research needs.

Possible topics include:

• Finding information for your research
• Literature Searching: What you need to know
• Reference Management Software (e.g. EndNote)
• Measuring your Research Impact
• Improving your Research Visibility
• Managing your Online Researcher Profile
• Research Data Management & Developing Data Management Plans
• Publishing in Academic Journals: Finding the right/highest impact Journal for your Research

You could also check out the "Research Skills & Awareness Modules"  which are part of the Research Skills Development Programme (RSDP). These modules are accredited for Postgrad Researchers as part of the GST2 Module and are also available to Post Doctoral Researchers & Academics to audit. They are run twice a year in semester one and two. Times and dates are available here.

Contact ciaran.quinn@mu.ie if you'd like to attend.

Research workshops are also run throughout the year so keep an eye on the Library Website events page and social media.

MU Library's Inter Library Loan service is available and requests can be submitted in the usual way: https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/library/using-library/inter-library-loans

Don't forget for Endnote 20 users, the "find full text" feature for your references. 

An alternative option is Open Access content via Unpaywall, who harvest content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world. They also use great open data from PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license info), and DataCite.

These resources can be shared and circulated by embedding the links to your Moodle page to support student learning and upskilling.

• Academic Writing Guide 
• LIST Online·
• Subject Guides
• Successful Searching Guide
• Referencing & Avoiding Plagiarism  ·
• Research Support Guide
• Referencing·
• Teaching & Research Development Team

For more extensive resources for your teaching and classes, take a look at the dedicated webpage here. 

Meet with the Academic Engagement Librarian via Teams, to discuss library-related issues arising for your colleagues or students, and to plan ahead for the academic year - she is your liaison with MU Library on these issues and can work with you to improve many issues. Use the drop-down field to choose the length of consultation that suits you best (30/40 mins). Contact Helen Farrell, Academic Engagement Librarian, or schedule a meeting on MS Teams using the button below. Schedule Appointment

Locate the item you need, using LibrarySearch (MU Library's online catalogue).

Once you have found the article, book or eBook from your reading list, click the Permanent Link option (the icon that looks like 2 links in a chain) to get a stable link to the resource that you can add to your reading list (see image above). This link can be added to your Word document, email, or uploaded to Moodle.

This link will obviously bring your students to the record in the library catalogue. Maybe you want to link straight to the eBook or eJournal article? All our providers have a link sharing option within the eBooks and eJournals, even to specific chapters. The common icon to look out for is a "chain" link-type icon, or "permalink", "stable link", or "DOI" text. 

We have a dedicated page that will assist you in planning the reading material, digital research material, and lesson plans for your module here. 

To book a short training session (online or in-person) with the Academic Engagement Librarian, please contact helen.farrell@mu.ie. I can run small-group sessions or 1-to-1, both online and in-person throughout the year.

•     Welcome to MU Library: a quick intro for staff new to MU (repeated in Semester 2)
•     New to MU?: quick faculty tour of MU Library & explore library material of relevance
•     Role of the Library Rep: find out what you need to know
•     Working remotely and using online materials from MU Library: getting to grips with the basics
•     Maximising Use of Library E-Resources in Online Learning
•     Honing your Searching Skills
•     Alerts in your subject: easy ways to stay current in your discipline
•     Linking up with 'Course Alignment' services to support your modules in 23/24
•     Developing Reading Lists for 23/24 and linking to Library material
•     Finding & using OER in MU (on demand)

Date & Time:

On demand throughout the year. Sessions may be scheduled during 22/23 and will be promoted via our social media channels.

Location:

Online & in-person

Right now, eBooks are so important in terms of getting the right content to your students. Help us to speed up your order by ensuring you give us:

• the ISBN (eBooks have ISBN's, as well as print)
• tell us if there's no eBook available, are you willing to accept a print-version?
• tell us how many copies of each eBook you need users to access? 3 concurrent readers would be the norm per eBook.

Read more about budgets and ordering here. 

These websites are a useful source of academic book reviews and ordering information:

• Book Data Online - good for looking up ISBN's, book details, availability and formats. 

• British National Bibliography - good for looking up all UK/Irish titles since 1950's, UK library holdings, and details of forthcoming titles too. 

• Whatever eJournal you use regularly to keep current in your subject area. 

Many of our eJournals and databases provide regular academic book reviews; you can even set up an alert in many of these online sites that will email you when a new book review is added. Email the academic engagement librarian for more information about this service. Because scholarly reviews tend to place the work in the context of current scholarship, they can sometimes take several years to appear after the book was published. I've chosen three major databases below to show you how to find reviews. You can then use this search to set up an email alert for updates. If you use JournalTOCs, the online table of contents alert service, your chosen journals will include book reviews as direct links too. 

• JStor Use Advanced Search and limit to "Reviews". You can also limit by discipline.
• Social Science Premium Collection Open Advanced Search. Enter "Book review" AND [your subject area]. 
• Web of Science Conduct your search for book or author, and then limit to "Book Reviews".

Some academics have asked us if it is possible to order books that are not specifically for modules, perhaps on topics they have an interest in specifically, and we are more than happy to facilitate this. The Library aims to stock a wide range of research sources and materials to facilitate study and research for all its users. If you have any specific queries, contact the Academic Engagement Librarian

From June 7th access to library e-resources will begin to move to Single Sign On (SSO).
This means all staff and students will authenticate using Office 365 regardless of whether they are on or off campus.
Checking a Library Account will stay the same via the menu in LibrarySearch.

All resources will be switched to hosted EZproxy except for the following, as they currently do not work with EZproxy
 
•    Westlaw UK, 
•    LexisNexis 
•    Emerald eJournals Premier 
 
Other providers may be added this list after the ‘Go live’ date as required. 
 
The deployed (current) EZProxy server will remain live for now.  If there are issues with resources on hosted EZproxy they can be switched from hosted to deployed as needed.
 
Please direct any issues or questions to library.eresources@mu.ie in the first instance.