LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Selecting sources

Search help

Use the search box to search the library's information resources. To limit your search to journals, articles etc., click the dropdown menu and select one of the options

Articles: Your search is limited to articles from journals. From your search results you can further drill down the results by using the facets in the left menu such as peer-review and online availability.

Books: This option retrieves e-books and printed books only.

Journals: Use this option if you are looking for a specific journal. The majority of our journals are available online. You can narrow your search results by using the facets in the left menu.
If you prefer to search for journal titles in an alphabetically sorted list, please use the Journals A-Z.

Databases: Enter words from the database title.
In the Database search you may browse by name, subject areas or type of content.

ePrints & eThesis: Choose this filter to search for Maynooth University theses.

Need more help? Go to search services to find search tips and additional links.

Sources for Systematic Reviews

Finding relevant resources to search for a systematic review

Sources to search:

Bibliographic databases (collection of references to published literature)
Grey literature and internet
Scanning reference lists from relevant studies
Searching key journals and conference proceedings (called hand searching)
Citation searching
Contacting study authors, experts, manufacturers, and other organisations
- https://guides.library.uq.edu.au/research-techniques/systematic-reviews/sources

Some Recommended Databases for Systematic Reviews

Web of Science Core Collection

Scopus

Embase

Medline

PubMed

Google Scholar

Psych Info

Sociological Abstracts

ERIC

Open Grey

Optimal database combinations for literature searches in systematic reviews: a prospective exploratory study
Within systematic reviews, when searching for relevant references, it is advisable to use multiple databases. However, searching databases is laborious and time-consuming, as syntax of search strategies are database specific. We aimed to determine the optimal combination of databases needed to conduct efficient searches in systematic reviews and whether the current practice in published reviews is appropriate. While previous studies determined the coverage of databases, we analyzed the actual retrieval from the original searches for systematic reviews.
more...less...
Results: Optimal searches in systematic reviews should search at least Embase, MEDLINE, Web of Science, and Google Scholar as a minimum requirement to guarantee adequate and efficient coverage.

Grey Literature

Grey literature is any information that is not produced by commercial publishers. It includes research reports, working papers, conference proceedings, theses, preprints, white papers, and reports produced by government departments, academics, business and industry.

Search the Library by keyword, individual name, and organisation

MU Research Archive Library (MURAL)

World Cat the collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

Copac a merged online catalogue of major libraries in the UK and Ireland

LENUS (HSE Health Repository)

OpenGray (Grey Literature in Europe)

ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories)

Science.gov (gateway to U.S Federal Science)

Google Scholar