LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Managing your Search Results

Search help

Use the search box to search the library's information resources. To limit your search to journals, articles etc., click the dropdown menu and select one of the options

Articles: Your search is limited to articles from journals. From your search results you can further drill down the results by using the facets in the left menu such as peer-review and online availability.

Books: This option retrieves e-books and printed books only.

Journals: Use this option if you are looking for a specific journal. The majority of our journals are available online. You can narrow your search results by using the facets in the left menu.
If you prefer to search for journal titles in an alphabetically sorted list, please use the Journals A-Z.

Databases: Enter words from the database title.
In the Database search you may browse by name, subject areas or type of content.

ePrints & eThesis: Choose this filter to search for Maynooth University theses.

Need more help? Go to search services to find search tips and additional links.

Reference Management and Review Tools

Many systematic reviewers choose to use reference management/bibliographic software to manage the references that they retrieve from the different databases. There are many different tools that you can use, each with strengths and weaknesses.

Maynooth users have access to an enhanced version of EndNote Online. Other software which you may hear of include Mendeley & Zotero, These are free, although you may be asked to pay for some advanced features such as additional storage. Maynooth University doesn't have a institutional subscription to any screening/reviewing tools at the moment. The Research Support Librarian is happy to discuss the pro's & con's of the different systems.

Software tools to support title and abstract screening for systematic reviews in healthcare: an evaluation

Screening Tools
Systematic reviews are vital to the pursuit of evidence-based medicine within healthcare. Screening titles and abstracts (T&Ab) for inclusion in a systematic review is an intensive, and often collaborative, step. The use of appropriate tools is therefore important. In this study, we identified and evaluated the usability of software tools that support T&Ab screening for systematic reviews within healthcare research.

Systematic Review Tools

SR Tools
The systematic review process can be lengthy and tedious. We have compiled some resources and tools to help guide and speed up the process. Additionally these tools can also be used for other types of reviews if what you are working on does not meet the specific criteria for a systematic review. This page describes various tools available to help conduct a systematic review.

Register for EndNote Online

How to set up an EndNote Online Account (instruction sheet)

Covidence

Covidence
Not free, web-based tool for screening abstracts. There is a free trial.

RevMan5

RevMan 5 is the desktop version of the software used for other review formats (diagnostic, methodology, flexible), for non-Cochrane reviews, and for offline working. RevMan 5 is no longer being developed or updated. You can use RevMan 5 alongside RevMan Web if needed.

Rayyan QCRI

Rayyan is a 100% FREE web application to help systematic review authors perform their job in a quick, easy and enjoyable fashion. Authors create systematic reviews, collaborate on them, maintain them over time and get suggestions for article inclusion.

Reference Management Software

Systematic Review Toolbox

SR Toolbox
The Systematic Review Toolbox is a community-driven, searchable, web-based catalogue of tools that support various tasks within the systematic review and wider evidence synthesis process.

Maynooth University & Maynooth University logo are registered trademarks of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth.