Skip to Main Content

Computer Science

Online Resources

Key Websites for Studying Computer Science

This is a list of key recommended websites for the study of Computer Science

  1. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Many articles in relation to Computer Science.
  2. FOLDOC. Free online dictionary of computing maintained by the University of London. 
  3. Irish Computer Society. The society for chartered IT professionals in Ireland.
  4. CoRR - Computer Research Repository. CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. 
  5. AITopics. The Internet's largest collection of information about the research, the people, and the applications of Artificial Intelligence.

 

 

How to reference something you found online

In the IEEE Style

In-Text Referenceused when you are quoting or paraphrasing a source in the body of your essay. It follows an author-date format. The above reference would appear as (Duncan, 2000) in-text.

 

(In APA Style)

Remember:

In the same way you reference books and journal articles, you need to reference anything you find online. 

You might not be able to find all of the information (e.g. some webpages have no individual author), but take note of the information that's available and put it into your referencing style.

 

For more information on how to reference online resources see our referencing guide.

Online Resources

While it is required to use academic sources provided by the Library such as Books and Journals & Databases for your assignments and research, good quality online resources can make an important difference to your work.

 

In this Online Resources section of our Computer Science guide, we’ve collected together information on

  1. The best online resources for Computer Science that will help you do well in your studies and
  2. Some advice on how to get the most out of these resources.

Be careful!: Unlike academic resources, general online resources often don’t go through a process to check they are of high quality. So you will need to assess them yourself by following the advice below and reading our Evaluating Information Guide.

Is an online source reliable or is it Fake News?

When you encounter online information you should ask yourself five Questions:  

  1. How recently was the information published / updated? 
  2. Is it relevant to your work?
  3. Do you trust the author?
  4. Is it supported by evidence?
  5. For what reason was the information published?

 

Find out more about Evaluating Information in our Successful Searching Guide.

MU Computer Science Departmental Website

The Department of Computer Science’s website provides up to date information and news for that department.

For students and staff of the department, it also provides access to key information such as

  1. The Departmental Handbook
  2. Essay Cover Sheets for assignments.
  3. Details of Departmental staff and their areas of interest.

 

 

Maynooth Library Website

When you want to find information that will help you with your academic work, we recommend you start with the MU Library website.

It's your one stop portal to finding out everything about the Library, including:

  • Opening hours
  • Our collections
  • Our Library Catalogue
  • And much more - all available here