This is a list of key recommended websites for the study of  Media Studies

1. Irish Film Institute. The Irish Film Institute is Ireland’s national cultural institution for film. It provides audiences throughout Ireland with access to the finest independent, Irish and international cinema; it preserves and promotes Ireland’s moving image heritage through the IFI Irish Film Archive, and provides opportunities for audiences of all ages and backgrounds to learn and critically engage with film.
2. British Film Institute. Charity governed by a Royal Charter. We combine cultural, creative and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals.
3. International Association for Media and Communications Research. The International Association for Media and Communication Research - IAMCR - is the preeminent worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research.
4. Society for Cinema and Media Studies. The Society for Cinema and Media Studies is the leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.

In the Harvard Style

Remember:

In the same way you reference books and journal articles, you need to reference anything you find online. 

You might not be able to find all of the information (e.g. some webpages have no individual author), but take note of the information that's available and put it into your referencing style.

For more information on how to reference online resources see our referencing guide.

While it is required to use academic sources provided by the Library such as Books and Journals & Databases for your assignments and research, good quality online resources can make an important difference to your work.

In this Online Resources section of our Media & Theatre guide, we’ve collected together information on

1. The best online resources for Media & Theatre that will help you do well in your studies and
2. Some advice on how to get the most out of these resources.

Be careful!: Unlike academic resources, general online resources often don’t go through a process to check they are of high quality. So you will need to assess them yourself by following the advice below and reading our Evaluating Information Guide.

When you encounter online information you should ask yourself five Questions:  

1. How recently was the information published / updated? 
2. Is it relevant to your work?
3. Do you trust the author?
4. Is it supported by evidence?
5. For what reason was the information published?

Find out more about Evaluating Information in our Successful Searching Guide.

The Department of Media Studies’s website provides up to date information and news for that department.

For students and staff of the department, it also provides access to key information such as

1. The Departmental Handbook
2. Essay Cover Sheets for assignments.
3. Details of Departmental staff and their areas of interest.

When you want to find information that will help you with your academic work, we recommend you start with the MU Library website.

It's your one stop portal to finding out everything about the Library, including:

• Opening hours
• Our collections
• Our Library Catalogue
• And much more - all available here.