Summer 2024 will see the commencement of refurbishment work at the John Paul II Library. The project will include a newly enhanced student space on Level 1 & 2 of the West Wing which aims to be completed in late 2024.  

We appreciate your patience and cooperation as we work towards a transformed experience for all our users.   

This page will contain the latest project updates. You can also follow the project's progress on Facebook, Instagram and X (formally Twitter). If you have any comments or questions please contact: Catherine Ahearne, Assistant Librarian with Responsibility for Engagement and Information Services.

• Works on Level 1 & 2 will begin in early June 2024.
• The collection housed in the west wing will also be inaccessible/restricted for the duration.
• The West Wing on these levels will be inaccessible during the works, including the group study rooms 7 to 12 on Level 1.

Summer 2024 will see the refurbishment of the West Wing and entrance of the John Paul II Library. This refurbishment is in line with the key enabler of the MU 2023-2028 strategic plan, to create a vibrant and inclusive campus environment where people enjoy working, studying, visiting, and connecting and supports the library’s strategy to enhance the student experience.

The refurbishment will see, a new seating plan with higher quality desk space and an increase in overall seating, defined wellbeing area, clearly defined zones of study, an updated Makerspace, a Digital Lab and a change to entry and exit in the foyer which will more than double the door capacity.

The LibQual survey carried out in March 2023 showed us areas our users wanted enhanced. The summer 2024 plans to create:

• A library space that inspires study and learning
• A haven for study, learning or research
• Quiet space for individual work
• A comfortable and inviting location
• Space for group learning and group study

 These are indicative dates and may be subject to change:

• 31 May:  Book removal
• 17 June:  construction begins on first floor.
• 24 June: construction begins on second floor.
• 26 July: construction begins on ground floor.

• Phase 1 - Closure of zones and removal of the collection. Will begin 31st May 
• Phase 2 - Work begins on levels 1 & 2
• Phase 3 - The collection is returned to levels 1 & 2 and Ground Floor works begin
• Phase 4 - The space is fully reopened

During summer 2024, construction on the new entrance to the Library will commence.

While the Library will remain open, some disruption over the following period should be expected. During this time, access to the Library will be via the new temporary entrance and the old front door will be closed. Work will continue on the construction of the new revolving doors for the duration.

These doors will have a larger capacity for entrance than the current revolving door.

September 2024 

The refurbishment works are continuing and are almost completed in the west wing of the John Paul II Library. From the week of the 23rd September we will be able to offer a click and collect service for the items available on level one only in the west wing. The group study rooms 7-12 will be inaccessible until the works are completed. 

The collection on level two in the west wing (100’s, 200’s 400’s, 700’s and 800’s) remains inaccessible to both library staff and users. As soon as the works allow, we will offer a click and collect service.

Please keep an eye on our social media channels and website for updates. Thank you for your patience as we create this enhanced space for our users.

June 2024

The west wings of level one and two are now completely closed off to all users and library staff. The collection that was housed here has been removed. The library retained a small percentage of the collection these are in a temporary location on each floor.

When searching the library catalogue if you see the message 

This item in unavailable for the duration of the works. If you need assistance please contact library.information@mu.ie or speak to a member of staff at the desk who will be happy to assist you.

All items have a standard loan period for the summer period i.e. there are no short loans for the duration

There will be noise disruption throughout the project and we appreciate your patience at this time.

May 2024
Commencement of works is May 31st 2024.  From this date, the collection in the West Wing and the levels 1 & 2 will be inaccessible.
If you would like to access the items in from this part of collection, we advise people to borrow the items in advance of May 31st 2024.

The collection and physical spaces affected by the works are:

• 000s Level 1 through the glass doors  
• 100s Level 2 through the glass doors 
• 200s Level 2 through the glass doors
• 400s Level 2 through the glass doors 
• 500s Level 1 through the glass doors 
• 600s Level 1 through the glass doors 
• 700s Level 2 through the glass doors 
• 800s Level 2 through the glass doors
• AV Collection Level 1 through the glass doors
• Group Study Rooms 7-12 Level 1 through the glass doors  

If you need assistance finding anything, please contact library.information@mu.ie and we will be happy to assist.

We will have limited access to the collection above for the duration of the works. Items will be assigned for an extended period for the duration of the work.

We will keep you updated with progress during the summer, please keep an eye on this page and also on our socials. on Facebook, Instagram and X (formally Twitter).

April 2024
Work on preparing the print collection (books and journals) for the move to the new library is well underway. The cages used for storing Theses, large format and other materials have been moved from the West Wing of the library to the East Wing.

The West Wing is still fully accessible to our users for individual study, the sleep pods remain accessible, as do the Group Study rooms 7-12.