LibGuides: Research Support Services Guide: Starting your research/assignment

Search help

Use the search box to search the library's information resources. To limit your search to journals, articles etc., click the dropdown menu and select one of the options

Articles: Your search is limited to articles from journals. From your search results you can further drill down the results by using the facets in the left menu such as peer-review and online availability.

Books: This option retrieves e-books and printed books only.

Journals: Use this option if you are looking for a specific journal. The majority of our journals are available online. You can narrow your search results by using the facets in the left menu.
If you prefer to search for journal titles in an alphabetically sorted list, please use the Journals A-Z.

Databases: Enter words from the database title.
In the Database search you may browse by name, subject areas or type of content.

ePrints & eThesis: Choose this filter to search for Maynooth University theses.

Need more help? Go to search services to find search tips and additional links.

Personal Research Consultations

Let the Library visit you!

Arrange for a personnel consultation* with the Research support Librarian.

*(available to postgraduate researchers & academic staff ).

ciaran.quinn@mu.ie

Ext: 6151

From Searching to Researching

Successful Searching

LibrarySearch, a new way to explore and locate books, articles, DVDs and more at Maynooth University Library. It offers a powerful search of the library’s content, from print materials to multimedia, to e-books and journals through the use of a single search box which quickly returns results across a range of the library’s collection.
A-Z of Databases

This contains a list of all the Databases that Maynooth Library subscribes to. It includes subject specific databases, multi disciplinary databases, dissertation databases, newspaper databases, dictionaries and many other resources.

Journals A-Z

Find a journal by its title or browse journals available by subject.

MU Institutional Repository (MURAL)

Maynooth University Institutional Repository showcases the research output of Maynooth University and St. Patrick's College staff and postgraduate students. This open access ensures the widest possible dissemination and impact for our work in Maynooth and contributes to the growing body of research literature that is now freely available online.