Skip to Main Content

For Staff

Digital Primary Sources in action - AM Explorer

A Libguide dedicated to all things MU Staff, bringing together useful resources, tools and services available to MU Staff in one place.

Usage advice for those starting with AM Explorer

  •  Use thematic filters to view content (otherwise it’s overwhelming & disparate)
  •  Filter the results of a search by “Collection” as it’s an excellent finding aid.  
  •  It is also a great way to highlight relevant content across the Collections because users may discount a Collection based on the title, yet they could be missing out on relevant material.
  •  Use w/# proximity searching (army w/10 Irish) 

Recorded webinars on AM Explorer adoption

AM Explorer: Primary sources for teaching and research - YouTube  

AM webinar video, runtime 1:01:38. Video explains the use of primary sources for teaching and research from customer community speakers. Possible target audience: Lecturers teaching a module/lecture using primary sources.

Humanities and Beyond: primary sources for all disciplines - YouTube  

AM webinar video, runtime 54:53. Video explains the use of primary sources for teaching and research from customer community speakers. Possible target audience: Lecturers teaching a module/lecture using primary sources, particularly those who don’t tend to use them or haven’t used them in teaching before.

 

Introduction to AM Explorer

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window   
AM Explorer gives you access to millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. AM Explorer holds primary source material that may be of  particular relevance to staff and students of the following departments:
  • Anthropology
  • Chinese Studies
  • Criminology
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Media Studies
  • Music
  • Sociology 

AM Explorer Research Methods Toolbox

Case Studies: https://www.amresearchmethods.amdigital.co.uk/case-studies Over 100 case studies are included here which focus on different source types, themes and data sets, allowing you to discover how scholars around the world approach primary source evaluation. 
Learning Tools: https://www.amresearchmethods.amdigital.co.uk/learning-tools comprise scholarly interviews, archive introductions, practical "How to" guides and essays on the big topics that underpin your research. Whether you want to find out what a primary source is, learn how to read a library catalogue or undertake in-depth data mining, this is where you'll find the advice to get started.  

Creative use of AM Explorer material in the classroom

 Curating mini virtual exhibitions, using the documents in AM Explorer
   Get your students blogging on a document in the database
    Editing Wikipedia using the primary source material in AM Explorer
    Locating “seed stories” (famous story or event) to inspire a book, video or poem.
    Create virtual digital archives
    A source for creative non-fiction writing
  Use the material to create virtual “field trips” using the documents in Padlet, or similar? 
    Physical and digital archives being presented to students in the same session, side by side 
    Critical creative methods with PS material, such as crime-scene analysis