Skip to Main Content

For Staff

Your Departments' databases and journals

A Libguide dedicated to all things MU Staff, bringing together useful resources, tools and services available to MU Staff in one place.

How to find an eJournal on the library website

Watch the short tutorial below on How to find an eJournal on the library website

New feature of "A-Z of databases": view by subject

Watch the short tutorial below on New feature of "A-Z of databases": view by subject

Request personalised training for your databases

                     Image of person sitting at laptop and concentrating.

Most database providers offer free, pre-recorded and/or live webinars on using their databases and getting the most out of their features. These can often be personalised for staff or for classes. Some providers even offer 'freebies' such as pens, posters and other small items to promote usage. We can plan timing, content, coverage, specific examples and learning outcomes in advance with the provider to maximise the relevance for you or your students.

Contact the Academic Engagement Librarian to organise a dedicated training session for you, your class or your department. Our Teaching and Learning Librarians also give bespoke classes in using resources for all levels. Contact us to find out more.

Do you want to know what subs you have, or cancel a subscription to a database?

All databases and eJournals are paid for out of a separate budget to books and eBooks

It makes good sense for all departments to annually review the databases and eJournals they subscribe to and make sure that these meet the needs of academics and students. Staff move on or retire, or the popularity of some resources can wane. This can mean that a database or eJournal is used less and less over time.

Each year MU Library analyses the cost-per-download for each electronic resource and makes suggestions to departments about renewal or cancellation based on these figures. If a resource is not being used, the cost-per-download will be very high and it could be cheaper to use Inter-library loans for example to meet the need.

I work with departments to deselect underused resources and use their money in a more effective way. I can arrange trials to new resources and find subscription costs for new resources. Contact me by email or phone: +353-1-7083897 to discuss.

Finding out subscription rates for journals

Book prices and subscriptions for individuals are usually different to those for institutions. Institutional prices are sometimes calculated on FTE (Full-Time Equivalent) numbers of students, or there can just be a separate price for organisations and libraries. Sometimes Library Reps and academics are contacted by publishers directly and the cost of resources can be difficult to determine. It is best to contact me to get a definite price for any resource you are interested in. MU is also involved in supply frameworks and consortia agreements which means that the allocation of budget for your department goes further.

How to embed a link in Moodle and protect your usage figures

Watch the short tutorial below on How to embed a link in Moodle and protect your usage figures

Protect your usage figures by linking the right way

You want to make sure that you continue to have access to databases and eJournals that are relevant to you. MU Library analyses usage figures for each database and resource on an annual basis, and those that have low use and high cost are often reviewed, and may be cancelled.

If you upload a paper to Moodle or circulate it by email*, you will only be recording one download. If you provide a stable link via Moodle or email, many users will be recorded as downloading the paper and we will be able to assess how often the resource is truly used.

*Never upload academic papers to Moodle or circulate via email, unless express permission is given for that usage. You CAN upload or circulate the link, but not the full PDF. Uploading full articles to Moodle can breach copyright, licensing laws and agreements and also means that proper user statistics are not being recorded for the resource. This matters, as we assess resources by usage patterns. Uploading links to Moodle is allowed and breaches no laws or agreements, and has the added bonus of recording usage. We are happy to advise you further on the safe way to circulate access to any article or resource; just ask us

Want information on a new database, or a trial?

I can arrange a trial of many databases for you. We analyse the usage during the trial period in order to decide on subscription, so you should time the trial to coincide with a time when it will be used well. We also ask for feedback about the usefulness of the resource from you at the end of the trial. In most cases, departments need to deselect an existing resource but we can discuss that further by email or phone: +353-1-7083897.