Proven outcomes from library classes
A number of studies have examined the outcome of library instruction on student confidence, academic performance and retention.
Some outcomes of delivering information literacy classes to students include:
- Creating a Search Strategy
- Knowing where to search
- Dealing effectively with the results
- Increased confidence in their academic skills
- Increased student retention
|
Bibliography Ain, C.T., Sabir, F. & Willison, J. 2019, "Research skills that men and women developed at university and then used in workplaces", Studies in higher education (Dorchester-on-Thames), vol. 44, no. 12, pp. 2346–2358. |
|
|
Campbell, P.C. & Mischkowski, D. 2025, "Teaching information literacy in online psychology courses: Effects on student performance and self-reported confidence", Journal of librarianship and information science, vol. 57, no. 2, pp. 591–606. |
Link |
|
Dahlen, S.P.C. & Leuzinger, R. 2020, "Impact of library instruction on the development of student skills in synthesis and source attribution: A model for academic program assessment", The Journal of academic librarianship, vol. 46, no. 6, pp. 102254. |
|
|
Deng, L. 2022, "The Pathway to Success: Facilitating First-Generation Student Learning in Academic Libraries Through Cross-Campus Collaborations", Journal of Library Administration, vol. 62, no. 1, pp. 1–18. |
|
|
Dennis, M. & Dees, A.S. 2024, "Strategic alliances: The library as a partner for student success", The Journal of academic librarianship, vol. 50, no. 6. |
|
|
Detmering, R. & Payette, P. 2021, "Finding a New Fit for Student Success: Librarians as Agents of Teaching Innovation and Institutional Change", Journal of library administration, vol. 61, no. 8, pp. 947–963. |
|
|
Jan, S.U., Anwar, M.A. & Warraich, N.F. 2018, "The relationship between emotional intelligence, library anxiety, and academic achievement among the university students", Journal of Librarianship and Information Science, vol. 52, no.1, pp. 237-248. |
|
|
Marineo, F. & Shi, Q. 2019, "Supporting Student Success in the First-Year Experience: Library Instruction in the Learning Management System", Journal of library & information services in distance learning, vol. 13, no. 1-2, pp. 40–55. |
|
|
Morse, B.R. 2022, Information Literacy and College Student Retention: A Correlational Study, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. |
|
|
Wittkower, L.R., Mcinnis, J.W. & Pope, D.R. 2022, "An Examination of Relationships Between Library Instruction and Student Academic Achievement", Journal of library administration, vol. 62, no. 7, pp. 887–898. |
|
|
Wright, L.B. 2021, "Assessing Library Instruction: A Study of the Relationship between Attendance, Retention, and Student Success", The Journal of academic librarianship, vol. 47, no. 5. |
Request a class for your students
Request a Library class here for your undergraduates and taught postgraduates: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/class-request.
We can tailor classes to your students' needs and that of the curriculum. When requesting a Library skills class through the form linked above, please give as much detail as possible, so we can tailor the class accurately.
Our classes are interactive and skills-based, and will familiarise your students with MU library and provide a grounding in information literacy. Each class will introduce students to services and supports available to them through MU Library, the nature of academic information and why it matters for them, and finding important resources for their subject.
When filling out the request form, you can also choose from several further topics of focus, including effective searching, using databases, referencing, and EndNote.
Classes are delivered in our dedicated training rooms (unless your class numbers exceed our capacity of 26). Students may be required to have a laptop for the class, either their own, or a laptop can be made available from the Library.
If you would like to request a Research Skills training class for a group of postgraduate researchers or academics, with Ciarán Quinn, Research Support Librarian, browse and request your training here: https://nuim.libwizard.com/f/Research_Skills_Training
For any queries on requesting a class please email us.
Special Collections & Archives: teaching support
In support of departmental programmes, we teach classes which include the following:
- Aspects of book history which complement a particular area of study. This can provide an invaluable backdrop to research and give an understanding of the broader picture of publishing for a given period
- Introduction to the history of the book
- Introduction to manuscripts and archives
The Russell Library was designed by British architect and designer, Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin (1812-52), and completed in 1861. It houses the historical collections of St Patrick’s College, Maynooth which span ten centuries and a wide range of subjects. Contact the Russell Library for more information by telephone (+353 1 7083890) or email us.
The Special Collections Reading Room in the John Paul II Library houses the unique and distinctive collections of Maynooth University, including archival collections of private origin such as the papers of writers and other professionals, as well as documents of local interest. Contact Special Collections & Archives for more information by telephone (+353 1 4747423) or email us.
