Welcome to the Library Rep webpage! Library Reps are one of the links between MU Library and each department or institute.
Library Reps are there to help if the staff in your department want to:
The role of a Library Rep can vary greatly between departments. Library Reps manage the budget allocated to the department for purchasing books and co-ordinate book ordering. Reps either have help from administrative staff when ordering books or they do all the ordering themselves. In some departments the Library Rep can be involved in a more strategic approach and can work with the Library to make sure resources align closely with the needs of students and researchers.
Contact the Academic Engagement Librarian if you have a question about any aspect of the Library Rep role.
*We have a dedicated MS Teams' space for Library Reps for discussion and notifications from the library. If you'd like to be added to it as Library Rep, contact the Academic Engagement Librarian for access.
We need to know of initiatives, changes and needs in your department in order to meet your researchers and students needs. Let the Academic Engagement Librarian know of any of the following:
The Academic Engagement Librarian will keep you up to date on:
The Academic Engagement Librarian also occasionally communicates via the all-faculty email lists (which of course, may not include all staff, so it would be useful if Library Reps could ensure these staff also receive library communications) on major Library announcements and collated updates of overall relevance to faculty.
Are you a new Library Rep?
Join our dedicated MS Teams' channel for Library Reps now; email the Academic Engagement Librarian and she will add you to the team.
It's an active space where you'll be able to discuss issues with other Library Reps, ask questions of the Academic Engagement Librarian, a place to find resources for your role as rep, and receive updates from MU Library.
Most departments have subscriptions to specific databases and eJournals. Some of these subscriptions are paid for by MU Library, and others are paid for by the university consortium, IReL that MU Library is a member of.
If you'd like to know what databases and eJournals your department subscribes to or if you want to cancel certain subscriptions, trial new ones, or find out how much a new subscription will be, contact the Academic Engagement Librarian.
"Deselection" is the term used for unsubscribing to a particular database / e-journal / journal and it can be very positive, as it can free up part of your departmental allocation to allow it to be used on more relevant subscriptions that align with current research and teaching and learning needs. Deselection should be considered periodically (every couple of years) by departments, to ensure the relevance of our collections.
We created two generic pieces for 22/23 about MU Library that can be used in your departmental handbook; one suitable for undergraduates, one for postgraduates. Download them here.
If you don’t want to use our full handbook piece, the following short paragraph might also be of use to you:
The Library has a dedicated team to help and support you with your assignments and research. They will be delivering a variety of supports to students throughout the semester. Details will be available from the Library website https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/library and our Supporting Online Teaching & Learning guide. You can always reach help at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone on 01-7083884. The library homepage has an anonymous chat-box for questions too. Make sure to follow MU Library on social media channels to get updates throughout the year on access & news, services and resources Instagram @library_mu, Facebook @MaynoothUniLibrary or on Twitter @mu_library
These websites are a useful source of academic book reviews and ordering information:
Book Data Online - good for looking up ISBN's, book details, availability and formats.
British National Bibliography - good for looking up all UK/Irish titles since 1950's, UK library holdings, and details of forthcoming titles too.
Whatever eJournal you use regularly to keep current in your subject area.
Many of our eJournals and databases provide regular academic book reviews; you can even set up an alert in many of these online sites that will email you when a new book review is added. Email the Academic Engagement Librarian for more information about this service. Because scholarly reviews tend to place the work in the context of current scholarship, they can sometimes take several years to appear after the book was published. I've chosen three major databases below to show you how to find reviews. You can then use this search to set up an email alert for updates. If you use JournalTOCs, the online table of contents alert service, your chosen journals will include book reviews as direct links too.
Library Reps work in a number of key areas, liaising with MU Library staff and staff in their department. This means working on:
More specifically this can include working on:
Semester 1: Nov 2022
Semester 2: Feb OR Mar 2023
Library Reps are responsible for monitoring the library budget for your department and ordering books from it. Tasks can include: