Skip to Main Content

Open Access Publishing Agreements


This guide provides details of open access agreements with publishers facilitated by IReL (Irish Research eLibrary) which typically allow corresponding authors from eligible institutions to publish their articles open access immediately on publication.

IEEE Open Access Agreement

IEEE Open Access Agreement

Agreement period 

1 Mar 2021 – 31 Dec 2023 


Agreement details 

This agreement allows current staff and students of Maynooth University to make their articles accepted for publication in eligible IEEE journals open access, without the author paying an article processing charge (APC)

Access to current content from IEEE Xplore.

Eligible journals 


Eligible authors 

The corresponding author must be a current staff member or student of Maynooth University at the time an article is accepted for publication. The corresponding author must ensure their correct affiliation details are known to the publisher at this time. 

Eligible article types: all types of articles are included.

OA publishing license: choice of a CC-BY or CC-BY NC-ND license. Authors sign a non-exclusive publishing license with the publisher. 

OA quota per year:  414 articles for full term (1 Mar 2021 – 31 Dec 2023). Allocated across the participating institutions on a first-come-first-served basis. 

Further information: